Please tell your pets you love them....

Discussion in 'Coping and Compassion' started by peabody58, Dec 25, 2012.

1. peabody58

peabody58 I'm just a drummer in a R&R Band!!

After 40 days of enduring the cancerous effects of hemangiosarcoma (HSA), including a Splenectomy, our 10 year old Minature Schnauzer Gretel will be relieved of her pain and discomfort this Christmas afternoon.

As I left for work tonight, she looked into my eyes to let me know she was ready. We gained 20 great 'puppy' days with her due to the surgary and medications, but alas this cancer is very aggresive.

10 years of unconditional love from our best friend has been priceless. We have been very blessed to have had her with us for this short time. Her spirit will live on with her brother Hansel, who undoubtedly will be very lonely.

Please use this Christmas time to let your pet know how much they mean to you, for you never really know when their time will come.

[​IMG]

2. Avatar

Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide this advert.
  3. mommasita

mommasita DIS VETERAN Moderator

I'm sorry. These decisions are difficult, but made out of extreme love :hug:

4. peabody58

Well Gretel gave us her Christmas present today by recovering well enough to eat some food and not be in obvious discomfort. We called off the vet minutes before he was leaving. She spent the day resting quietly on the sofa keeping DW and her brother company. Her energy is very low, but another day with us is a blessing. I'm looking forward to seeing her again when I get off work this morning. We know it's only a matter of days till she doesn't recover from her bad days.

5. FergieTCat

FergieTCat <font color=green>No, I'm serious. And don't call

When I brought Fergie for her final visit to the vet, it was so painful yet my heart was so full of compassion. I don't know what was worse, the dread going there or the sadness on the way back.

I know Fergie knew how much I loved her.

6. peabody58

RIP Gretel 12/28/12