Online Check-In: Now 60 Days Out?

Discussion in 'Disney Resorts' started by KuyaJeff, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. KuyaJeff

    KuyaJeff Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    240
  2. Avatar

    DIS Sponsor The Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin is located in the heart of the Walt Disney World Reosrt.

    to hide this advert.
  3. softballmom3

    softballmom3 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
  4. stevb

    stevb Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    I couldn't pull up the link either. Got an error message also.
     
  5. ThisIsJason

    ThisIsJason DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    600
    I think if you haven't switched to the new Disney website design it won't load.

    Yep. 60 days. Do you really need 2 months to check in?
     
  6. softballmom3

    softballmom3 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Yep you were correct. Once I switched to new version it loaded fine.
     
  7. Mousemommy1

    Mousemommy1 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    11,357
    How do you switch to the new version? :confused3
     
  8. Good Morning Dewdrop

    Good Morning Dewdrop Everything Is Awesome!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,877
    whew glad to know I'm not the only one that is confused!
     
  9. BCV23

    BCV23 <br><img src="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/i DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,658
    At the top of the page, it asked if I wanted to switch to the new version.

    Love the 60 days as for me it is just makes the trip that much closer. Doesn't mean you have to do it at 60 days. :goodvibes

    Oh, and I had trouble using Firefox. Could get to the new version but then got an error message at some point. Google Chrome did work for me.
     
  10. softballmom3

    softballmom3 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    This :). There was text in the upper right portion of the screen to prompt it. I still don't know if I like it or not though.
     
  11. Mousemommy1

    Mousemommy1 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    11,357
    Oh, maybe that's not showing up because I'm on my iPad?? :confused3

    Maybe I'll hop on my laptop later.
     
  12. jimandami

    jimandami DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,766
    I tried to do online check-in for our January trip just now, though, and it said unavailable, check back later.
     
  13. fla4fun

    fla4fun DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,698
    I don't know about needing 60 days advance check in. Too many things can happen. What if you need to cancel or move your dates or even want to change your resort and you've already done the online check in? Are there any issues with that? Maybe it has something to do with the whole "make your ride reservations at home" process, but considering Disney doesn't do the final tweek to their hours until about two weeks out, they would need to get their ducks in a row before it could be really helpful.

    I would feel comfortable at 15 days. Jury Duty notices are mailed in my county four weeks ahead, so I can be reasonably sure I won't get one by 15 days out.

    Personally, I'd rather they would do it like Hilton properties do. There is only a 36 hour window for online check in, but you get to select your room number when you do the check in process. I would like the ability to see what rooms are open and make my choice in advance.
     
  14. goofy78

    goofy78 …sea monkey has my money… …yes, I'm a natural blue

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    573
    Anyone have a hard time retrieving their ressie? I could pull mine up fine on the old version but the new version can not find it. I entered my confirmation number, last name, date of check in and hotel but it keeps saying ressie can not be found as entered. I booked through AAA. :confused3
     
  15. fla4fun

    fla4fun DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,698
    Are you sure you are using the Disney confirmation number and not an AAA itinerary number or something? I just did the upgrade, and uploaded my trip for next month that I booked through a third party. I did get a message halfway through the process that said their system could not access all the details of the reservation, but it did locate it and it's on the My Reservations page.

    I use three different computers in the course of the day, so I'm going to leave one on the old site at least until I'm sure my online check in for next month goes through right.
     
  16. goofyfigment

    goofyfigment DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,201
    I tried to do online check in today and was told to try again later. We check in on dec 30th so its only 15 days out.
     
  17. goofy78

    goofy78 …sea monkey has my money… …yes, I'm a natural blue

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    573
    I'm sure I'm using the correct one because when I pull up the reservation on the old site it is the same number that comes up. I also just tried updating my profile on the new site and it keeps telling me to enter a valid email? The email field is already filled in with my correct email address. I suppose it's just a glitch in the new system. I think I'm going to give them a call just to see what's going on.
     
  18. fla4fun

    fla4fun DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,698
    I'm thinking it's still a little "buggy" right now. I tried to go into the site in general and it gave me an error message and wouldn't let me in at all. Maybe they're getting a lot of people upgrading today, since it's a weekend.
     
  19. goofy78

    goofy78 …sea monkey has my money… …yes, I'm a natural blue

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    573
    I think so too. Do you know when this new system became available? I think once it's worked out all the kinks, it's going to be great! I think I'll try calling another day and give it some time to adjust. I can still see my confirmation on the old system so I'm not too worried. :thumbsup2
     
  20. shburks

    shburks DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,581
    Won't find mind either. You're not alone. I have a new reservation from a few days ago made by a TA and called Disney to make sure it was really there!!
     
  21. ambermiller6970

    ambermiller6970 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    to register your reservation, you need the longer confirmation code, not the one with letters & numbers that is 7 or 8 digits, you need to use the 12? digit confirmation code. you will also have to manual enter all your dining reservations. but on a positive note, the 'my itinerary' section is pretty cool, I hope that they expand it to add calendars and such :)


    Posted from DISboards.com App for Android
     

Share This Page