Mixed feelings about our Kidani stay

Discussion in 'DVC-Mousecellaneous' started by LadyTrampScamp&Angel, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. LadyTrampScamp&Angel

    LadyTrampScamp&Angel DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,070
    Just back from our 9 night stay at WDW, including 4 nights in a savannah view studio at Kidani.

    The positives: The resort itself is gorgeous, absolutely beautiful. Loved the art and the quotes around the building. I like the dark wood. We saw lots of animals from our balcony. Everything is clean and new. The pool and fitness center area are awesome - love the pool theming. DD spent quite a bit of time down there and when I was with her it never seemed too crowded.

    The negatives: Our room - in fact we dubbed it "the lemon room". The internet didn't work when we arrived and after my DH who is a software engineer had a long conversation with tech support on the phone - they finally said they'd seen a tech over - but no one showed. This was important because DH was going to be on call during our last day. The TV worked intermittently, along with the toilet - which we kept fixing ourselves, the flushing mechanism kept coming apart on the inside of the tank. Also, this was a HA room and the sliding door to the bathroom had a wide gap, it didn't close all the way - so walking by you'd be looking right at the toilet - no privacy there.

    When we checked in we had left Ft Wilderness cabins, gone to Tampa for the day to visit DH's grandmother and arrived about 8pm. At first we thought the room was beautiful and were focused on the giraffes outside. I didn't even realize it was a HA room until we'd hauled our stuff in. Knowing I'd already accepted the room I though it wouldn't be a big deal, until all the above started being discovered.

    On our second day I went down to talk to the conceirge about all the problems and was nicely told I could move the following day for a fee of $30. I had a runner walk me down to see a regular room and there's a big difference in the bathroom area. The vanity in the HA room is small compared to a regular room, not near as much storage and the toilet is in the bathroom area in the HA room instead of in a separate room. I would have moved except the room that was available was much farther down the opposite hall, away from the pool. So I agreed to let the staff try to fix everything in our room, except the the bathroom door gap - they said they wouldn't get to that during our stay, and by later the second day the internet and tv seemed to be fixed. We hung a big beach towel lengthwise on the sliding bathroom door to fill the gap. This was July 7th, DD's birthday and we were busy, I didn't want to pack up everything to move either. This day they also tested the fire alarm system and let me tell you it seemed to work well. There are flashing lights that made me dizzy, you couldn't stay in the resort and have any peace so we went out all day.

    On subsequent days the TV and toilet continued to have problems, thus us fixing the toilet ourselves and calling down to have the tv reset. DH had an air card shipped to him from work just in case and that managed to get to us but a package from Ft Wilderness was lost forever - we gave up on that. The CM's were nice and helpful but perhaps the resort being new - things just weren't working efficiently. I just have mixed feelings about Kidani after all the problems. Next time I'll request a non HA room and hope for the best. It isn't our home resort and I'd stay there again, but probably not going to rush back soon.

    Like the underneath parking, really helps keep your car cooler but am hoping the landscape grows up along the outside edge so you don't see all the vents etc, really detracts from the resort's appearance.

    We were in 7616 (I think that was the number) on the lobby floor (2) in the Rafiki area.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. florep1

    florep1 I believe in Magic!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    We had the room next door to you last week, 7618 which is also a HA room and we liked it. I agree with not having enough storage in the vanity and we did miss the bar, but we didn't have issues like you did. In fact, we had issues with internet access in the Zazu room, we had to call tech support every day for an access code, but as soon as we got to the Rafiki room, no issues with internet access, so I'm guessing it is a networking issue.
     
  4. Shelly F - Ohio

    Shelly F - Ohio Disney Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7,346
    We did not like our stay either. The bed squeeked terribly. We complained but nothing was done. At least we had a split stay and could not wait to leave AKL to go to SSR
     
  5. LadyTrampScamp&Angel

    LadyTrampScamp&Angel DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,070
    :( Sorry to hear you all had some problems too. florep1 - the day we checked out (Friday, July 10th) they were changing out the bed in 7618. The bed furniture itself and I was wondering why - did you have problems with it? Too bad we didn't know we had DIS'ers next door!

    I love the building itself, and the pool area but I hope for better luck whenever we return as far as a room. Did your bathroom door have a gap in it like ours?

    We started out in a Ft. Wilderness cabin because the rest of my family just loves it there. I like Ft Wilderness too but miss being in the middle of the action. I think I felt the same way somewhat about Kidani. I was told the resort was full but it didn't seem crowded but peaceful - still I like the resorts that are near the MK and Epcot. After Kidani we moved to a MK view room at the CR, and had the most awesome view from the 10th floor. It really put us back in the Disney mood.

    The CM's were helpful but the one thing that really irritated me was a charge for moving when so many things were not working in our room! Not that $30 is a huge amount but when things aren't working I don't think a DVC member should be charged for moving - it wasn't that we just didn't like the room. I was told we'd be charged because they would fix the room - but as I said they didn't fix everything and it was an inconvenience. Just my opinion.
     
  6. florep1

    florep1 I believe in Magic!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    We left July 5th and didn't notice any issues with the bed or the bathroom door. We tried to extend our stay by a day or two but were told they were fully booked. I mainly used the bathroom in the bedroom and once I got over the fear of making a mess in the shower as it is a roll in shower so there is no door, just a shower curtain I was okay. I would have preferred a non-HA room but the location itself made up for it. I never used the bathroom by the entry, the kids did. Now I'm wondering what was wrong with the bed....
     
  7. ToddyLu

    ToddyLu Welcome aboard explorers- I love Mr. Ray

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,346


    OMG!!!! We had our local DisMeet last night and one of the girls had that exact room....she was complaning of the huge gap and that everyone had to make an announcement to use the bathroom becasue of the gap. She said when she called about the internet...she got nowhere and finally talked someone into coming to help her FIND IT! Low and behold they skipped that room for the Internet access.

    She loved the decor and pool, even the garage becasue it was so hot....but they were glad to leave and go to SSR, too. I thought darn, DH and I just bought our points....Oh well, at least we will be a WDW.
     
  8. DVC Mike

    DVC Mike DVC & Photography for me! BLT/VGF/BWV DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,504
    Unfortunately, there are a certain number of HA rooms, and some people who don't need/want them will end up with them.
     
  9. LadyTrampScamp&Angel

    LadyTrampScamp&Angel DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,070
    OK ToddyLu, now that I know it's not just my opinion - I think I'm writing a letter about that room! Not looking for anything but to get it fixed!

    I know DVCMike and the fact that we got in fairly late that night - 8pm - I think limited our choices, we were left with what was left. I would have preferred a regular room but would have been fine if it weren't for the issues -especially that darn door!

    The good thing about 7616 was the location definitely.
     
  10. famsen

    famsen DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,795
    Our home resort is AKV. We've stayed in five different rooms at AKV since becoming members and the only time I have NOT gotten a HA room was when I specifically requested we not be put in one of those rooms.
     
  11. LadyTrampScamp&Angel

    LadyTrampScamp&Angel DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,070
    florep1 - we just missed you then, we checked in on the 6th. I thought it was strange they were putting a new bed in there, having just been open a couple of months? Maybe the family following you did something to it :confused3

    famsen - oh wow, you'd think the odds would be better. I know now that I will always put non HA in my requests too.
     
  12. LadyTrampScamp&Angel

    LadyTrampScamp&Angel DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,070
    ToddyLu - the resort is gorgeous, just put "not room 7616" in your requests! And at least the internet did seem to get fixed!
     
  13. drakester

    drakester Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    315
    We stayed at Kidani in June and loved our stay. I have no complaints. I'm only sorry not everyone is having the same type of experience we had.:goodvibes
     
  14. AKV707

    AKV707 <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,659
    I am so sorry to hear that you had a negative Kidani experience. Your room should not have been in that condition.

    We were at Kidani in June as well and loved it. As I wrote in another post, we had an issue by being assigned to a dedicated 2 br when we booked a lockoff. That was a major inconvenience as was moving the next day to a lockoff. However, both rooms were in perfect condition.

    We will return there in January and again next June. It is beautiful, very Disney, and we love love it.

    To the OP, I would email member satisfaction. Who knows, they may help. At least the issues should be brought to their attention.
     
  15. deva

    deva DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Messages:
    742
    OK, I'll bite...

    What is a HA room?
     
  16. WolfpackFan

    WolfpackFan Retired and loving every minute of it!!

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    2,448
    HA is a Handicap Access room.
     
  17. twinklebug

    twinklebug Thawing out

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,797
    Our first stay at Kidani is in a week's time. As it's our home resort I'm really hoping we love it -- but if not, I know we love Jambo house :lovestruc It's like 2 resorts in one!

    I do hope they fix the crowded bus situation I've been reading about though. I love using disney transportation, but if every bus I go to get on to or from the parks is packed to standing it will quickly remove even Jambo from my list of favorites. I know I could rent a car, but on vacation I don't want to drive... I'll save that for my commute.
     
  18. AKV707

    AKV707 <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,659
    We did not experience overcrowding on the buses with the exception of one or two times when we were there in June, I brought up the concern to member satisfaction that when Kidani is fully open there could be an issue with crowding and they assured me that they are conscious of that and will provide sufficient busing. I guess we will see.

    I hope that you like Kidani. It is a beautiful resort. Have a great vacation!
     
  19. florep1

    florep1 I believe in Magic!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    This bothered me, so I asked DH if he noticed anything wrong with the bed in our room other than being really low. He said, "Yeah, it had no frame, just a box spring, mattress, and a headboard". So maybe they were adding a frame to it?
    :confused3
     
  20. LadyTrampScamp&Angel

    LadyTrampScamp&Angel DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,070
    That might have been it, they were carrying some long pieces in. Our bed was quite high - isn't that strange?
     
  21. florep1

    florep1 I believe in Magic!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    It is strange. We stayed for 4 nights in a savanna studio on the Zazu section prior to that and the beds were indeed high and I remember thinking "wow, these beds are really low!" So low in fact that DH kept tripping and losing his balance when he'd try to get on the bed. I just thought that's how accessible rooms were supposed to be.:lmao:
     

Share This Page