Maintaining fitness level- runners?

Discussion in 'W.I.S.H' started by Raenstoirm, Nov 9, 2012.

1. Raenstoirm

Raenstoirm Moderator Moderator

I am currently on a marathon training schedule to be completed in late April. There is a lot of work to get yourself ready for such an event (as I am discovering and I have only been working on it for a month!). When it is over, how do you keep up that fitness? An hour or two run a couple times a week? Then upping it when a race is on the horizon? I am still very new to long distances, but I dont want to "waste" my training by only running one race and having to start from scratch for the next one.

2. adkkev

adkkev hiking fool

Once you run a HM or marathon, you'll want to run another. or two. or three. So you take a "rest week" after your marathon, cutting back on your miles, taking it easy, and then you start plotting about your next big race.

I haven't had a race since mid-September but I am still running 5 days a week ... for me it's just a matter of liking to run & it helps keep me healthy. The health part is motivation enough for me.

3. SAHDad

SAHDad DIS Veteran

If all you are wanting to do is maintain fitness so that you can ramp back up to training for a half without starting from scratch, you could get by with running 2-3 short runs (of about 3 miles) per week, and then a long run of about 6.

But, as adkkev said, running races can get addictive. So you might find yourself in a situation where you always have a race on the horizon, which is not a bad thing.

4. Steve's Girl

Steve's Girl DIS Veteran