Just got my Canon S5 IS today !!

Discussion in 'Photography Board' started by jdb0822, Sep 27, 2007.

  1. jdb0822

    jdb0822 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Well, finally broke down and bought it. I have read so much good stuff on here about the S3 IS, I figured I would grab the new model. The S3 is $299 locally and the S5 is $359. I do like the large LCD screen. So many buttons, so much to learn in the next 6 weeks before we go!

    I will say this though, the lens cap is completely useless. As I took the camera out of the box, it fell right off. I think I'd rather have nice pics and a crappy lens cap then the other way around. I think it has alot of the same features as the S3, with some upgrades (8mp, large LCD, 4gb movie, etc)

    Anyone have one that can give me some tips that would be useful in WDW?
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. LPZ_Stitch!

    LPZ_Stitch! ºoº DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,260
    Welcome to "the family"! :grouphug: There are a LOT of happy S3/S5 owners here on the DIS! :thumbsup2

    We've even got our own thread: CANON S3 IS - Post Your Shots & Join The Family!. Contained in that thread, in addition to a LOT of nice pics, is a lot of advice from myself and many other knowledgeable DIS'er S-series camera owners. We've covered everything from add-ons and accessories to settings for various types of shots to general photographic theory!

    I just got back from WDW with my S3 and I got a lot of really good pictures. I'm very happy with it as a "vacation" camera -- such versatility!
     
  4. kimluvswdw

    kimluvswdw <font color=darkorchid>I just can't put my finger

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,608
    I got my S5 about 2 weeks ago and I have alot to learn. Oh the buttons and settings. I am not sure about anything, but the auto setting. I have been trying it out little by little, but I feel like I am in over my head.
     
  5. fla4fun

    fla4fun DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,755
    I just bought an S5 too! My S1 quit working the day I checked in to Disney for a 2 1/2 week trip, so I had to get a new camera right away. I'd been thinking about the S5, but couldn't justify getting one when the old camera was still working. I've had it about three weeks now, and I'm still finding new things to like about it. I especially like the larger screen (it makes my S1 look like a postage stamp). I haven't had as much trouble with the S5 lens cap as I did with the S1. The S5 cap is kind of like my old AE1 lens cap. So far, it hasn't fallen off once. I was able to pick mine up for around $350 also, although it's still going for $500 at a lot of the stores here. I was just glad I'd been doing some shopping around ahead of time!
     
  6. DisneyMom14

    DisneyMom14 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    926
    I just got mine too for about $350 which I thought was a deal b/c our stores are still charging about $500 too. I had an older Canon then thought I was upgrading when I purchased a Panasonic which (on paper) was twice as good as my older Canon. Boy was I wrong!!! It was awful! Going back to my roots and sticking with Canon! So far I love it! I'm more of an auto kinda' gal, but I'm interested in how to take indoor and night time pictures when we go to wdw in Feb.:cool1:
     
  7. S. C.

    S. C. The mitten state

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    26,416
    Congrats to everyone on your new cameras. :)


    I put off buying my S3 for a few months because i was afraid it was a lot more camera than what i would/could use. I'm so glad i bought it. I :love: my S3.

    I mainly shoot in P mode and change the ISO. Lots of S2/S3 owners recommended starting out in P program mode. I recently started using some of the other modes. I wish i would of bought my S3 long before i did.
     
  8. LPZ_Stitch!

    LPZ_Stitch! ºoº DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,260
    Less-than-stellar performance in low-light is, unfortunately, the S3's (only, IMHO) weakness.

    If you don't want to use your flash, the best results I've gotten are to use Spot Metering (or Center Weighted for larger subjects like Spectromagic floats), Av mode, set the aperture as wide as it will go (2.7 ... don't zoom unless you have to), ISO 200 (or, more likely, 400) and Noiseware. They'll come out a little grainy but still have plenty of detail even after Noiseware for even moderately large prints (5"x7").

    Depending on how much spot-lighting there is, you can usually get a fast enough shutter speed to freeze things that aren't moving much (the IS will help), and be sure to take more than one shot to increase you chances of getting a "keeper".
     
  9. DisneyMom14

    DisneyMom14 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    926
    Thanks LPZ Stitch! Some of that went over my head, but I am saving the tip and will practice somewhere before I get to dw!:thumbsup2
     
  10. sharibrat

    sharibrat DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    I've had my S5 for two weeks and love it.

    Two complaints - if you forget to put the flash up, like I do, then you miss the picture because it needs a few seconds to warm up. Learning curve, I guess.

    Lens cap. Agree, totally useless
     
  11. jdb0822

    jdb0822 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    is there a better after market lens cap you can buy?
     
  12. LPZ_Stitch!

    LPZ_Stitch! ºoº DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,260
    Yes, but you need to buy a lens adapter, first.

    However, a lens adapter is a very useful accessory so you'll probably want one eventually, anyway. :thumbsup2
     

Share This Page