Just back from Coronado Springs...................

Discussion in 'Disney Resorts' started by 2MuchOhana, May 1, 2005.

  1. 2MuchOhana

    2MuchOhana <font color=darkcoral>Need to figure that one out

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    and it was the WORST resort we have ever stayed in onsite! (Edited to add. Please note that this was our experience. Don't change your mind about staying at this resort based on our opinions. CSR just didn't live up to our expectations of it.) We asked to change resorts the very first night. Unfortunately, all the other resorts were filled; so we couldn't! If it weren't for the fact my dh's co worker and family were coming a few days later than us I would have considered moving to a hotel off site completely. This is our opinion and I know many of you really enjoy this resort. However after staying at three other Disney resorts (CBR, POFQ, and AKL) before this one; CSR did not live up to our expectations! It had no Disney magic at all for us.

    Our room location was horrible. They were ripping up the sidewalks in front of building for three days. The walls were paper thin. You could easily hear people's conversations in the rooms next to you. The busses took a lot longer than at any of the other resorts we have stayed at or eaten meals at. Average wait time was about a half hour. DTD was the worst for the bus we waited for an hour! We never waited more than 10 minutes at any other resort including AKL!

    Don't even get me started on the Pepper Market! Bad service, long wait and food that was just okay! Take my advise and save the aggrevation and get a "To Go" card rather than pay the extra 10% to be shown to a table. 30 minutes in lines at 8:30 PM is too long to wait when half the tables in the place were empty. After that it took 25 minutes to get two cheeseburgers with fries. (Note it is cheaper to eat at the pool). We were with three other tables and we were all complaining about the poor service and it fell on deaf ears when asked for a manager to complain.

    Don't think we will ever stay there again.

    Jodi And Greg
     
  2. Avatar

    DIS Sponsor The Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin is located in the heart of the Walt Disney World Reosrt.

    to hide this advert.
  3. Trinity721

    Trinity721 <font color=navy>Proud Navy wife<br><font color=de

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,107
    I'm sorry you had a bad time at CSR :guilty: We just got back last night from CSR as well, but we actually had a wonderful time. Although I will agree the service at Pepper Market was not so great. We never waited long for the buses either. I hope your next stay is better, and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the resort. Hope you still had a good vacation! :flower:
     
  4. Trinity721

    Trinity721 <font color=navy>Proud Navy wife<br><font color=de

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,107
    LOL... i just realized we posted on each other's threads :flower:
     
  5. Luv2Roam

    Luv2Roam Dexter: Takes Life. Seriously.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2000
    Messages:
    15,479
    Sorry you had a bad resort stay. I know how that is and it sets the mood for the entire trip, and really sours any return visit.
    I swear sometimes it is all timing -- sometimes it is good, sometimes bad.
    The one bad resort visit we had was one of those trips where many things just did not go as they should.
    And luckily you are a Disney repeat and know what you experienced is not the norm. Althoug it is very disappointing.
     
  6. Steffi

    Steffi <font color=magenta>McDonald's isn't my friend<br>

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,418
    I'm so sorry you didn't like your stay at CSR! It's terrible when you've planned and planned for a vacation only to be disappointed. Thanks for your honest opinion. I do hope you enjoyed the other aspects of your vacation! :sunny:

    Edited to add: My DH's heart is in Lambeau Field, too! :teeth:
     
  7. 2MuchOhana

    2MuchOhana <font color=darkcoral>Need to figure that one out

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    :flower: Thanks everyone! I just needed to vent my frustration! There is a resort out there for everyone and this was just not the one for us! Unfortunately it does have me thinking about cancelling our end of September'early October trip. Even though, I know I would be returning to a resort I love or trying one I always wanted to stay at; this experience has left a sour taste in my mouth!

    The grounds at CSR were beautiful; but that just wasn't enough to make it a good and positive experience. I was really looking forward to our stay there; especially since it was just the two of us. DD stayed home with Grandma and Grandpa. I was so thankful for that because our three year old would not have appreciated the long wait at the Pepper Market!

    I did meet a fellow DISer though! Hi LittleDuck'sMom if you are out there!

    Jodi
     
  8. DISNEYFAMILYOFFOUR

    DISNEYFAMILYOFFOUR DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,880
    We stayed there in 1999 and did not care for it either. I do realize that there are alot of fans of CSR out there, but my entire family are not among them. However, it did not kill our "Disney" spirit. We have become huge fans of WL.
     
  9. Kimberly

    Kimberly DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,972
    Sorry to hear about your trip. I've never been to CSR, but i've only heard good things about it except for just how busy it can get!
     
  10. mamalle

    mamalle DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,831
    wow- sorry you stay wasnt that great. gosh we have never had a bad experience there at all. By far the best all around resort we have stayed in with the kids.
     
  11. Buzz2001

    Buzz2001 CSR MAN!!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2000
    Messages:
    15,782
    Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the resort. We just returned on 4/25 and had a great time at CSR. I did notice the construction going on to make repairs to the walkway in front of the casitas when I was walking aroundtaking photos.
     
  12. becka

    becka <font color=green>Proud Mommy of sweet Nathan and

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1999
    Messages:
    13,852
    I am sorry you did not have a great time. We love CSR and we have had our best services and experiences at this resort but everyone is different. We personally did not like the Swan and I know others love it. That is one great thing about WDW resorts...there are so many to choose from and everyone can find a favorite.

    I hope your next trip goes better for you. :)
     
  13. chipscinderelly

    chipscinderelly <font color=3399cc>Victim of a drive-by tag attack

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,963
    Oh I am so sorry you didn't have a good experience - that's awful! Perhaps there was a convention at the resort? I know that when I stayed there in 1999 we were a convention group and I am sure it was challenging on everyone who was not with our group to understand that at 7:30 am when they wanted to eat and go to the parks that we wanted to eat and get to a meeting.

    I hope your next trip is better!
     
  14. 2MuchOhana

    2MuchOhana <font color=darkcoral>Need to figure that one out

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,139
    I softened my view a little bit now that I have had a better chance to reflect on it. It won't be my first choice of places to stay; but will perhaps consider it again if the price is right and circumstances were different.

    I did love the Jumbo resort mug! It was great and a much better value than buying two regular sized ones. Cost was $21.25 versus $11.99 each. Too bad I couldn't have loaded it up with Strawberry Margaritas instead of soda!

    Perhaps it was a case of unrealistic expectations on our part; or perhaps it was just the fact we went without DD! I don't really know. Anyway, I am glad that so many have had good experiences at CSR or other resorts. I can relate to those that haven't regardless of which resort.

    Jodi :sunny:
     
  15. Danvers

    Danvers <font color=red>These words are my own.<br><font c

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,488
    I'm sorry, but I agree with you...CSR is a HORRIBLE resort.
     
  16. LindsayDunn228

    LindsayDunn228 <font color=teal>Quite a hunk of man, isn't he???<

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10,788
    Sorry for your bad experience. I love it though!
     
  17. Micca

    Micca Where there's a will, there's an heir

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    20,125
    We have always enjoyed our stays at CSR, but it's a matter of personal taste, and the "luck of the draw"(any resort can have some bad days). Hope you enjoy your next trip to WDW :earsboy:
     
  18. ihearttink

    ihearttink Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    We stayed there when it was brand new. Our expierence was the same as you. The buses were forever and it was August and we were dying. Even the walk back to the rooms from bus seemed way to long after walking in the parks all day in 90 degree weather. We were also disappointed with the Pepper Mill.

    For us though I really think it was the theme that didn't do it for me. It really is just a matter of taste.
     
  19. DZNYMGCFAM

    DZNYMGCFAM Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Sorry you had such a bad time there. We tried staying there in 1998, we were not happy with it either, we stayed one night and transferred back over to POR (still Dixie then). I also know there are fans of CSR :teeth: , I am a fan of POR :teeth: , and I know that there are people who can't stand POR :rolleyes: . Personally, I did not care for CSR as there was not a lick of shade on any walkway (I know this goes with the mexican theme), but my middle daughter and I are very fair (we turn into flames in the sun :rolleyes:, plus she was an infant then). The walk from our room to the lobby/food court was an easy 10-15 minute walk with a 4 month old and a three year old in tow. The service at the Pepper Market then was crappy :sad2: ...had to ask twice to get drinks, it took about 30 minutes after sitting down to get our drinks and I do not like the fact that you have to pay the gratuity no matter what the service is like...I tip accordingly!!!! I thought the rooms were very nice and I really liked the lobby and I truly thought it was a very lovely resort. I like the theme of the pool too. It just was not a resort that fit my family very well. We fit in with the POR as far as a moderate resort goes. It has plenty of shade and it is not a very far walk from any room to the lobby/food court and pools. The bus service could be better I admitt, but I know this and prepare myself for it.

    I hope that your next trip makes up for this one. I certainly would not change my plans for the fall trip! :wave2:
     
  20. LindsayDunn228

    LindsayDunn228 <font color=teal>Quite a hunk of man, isn't he???<

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10,788
    Pepper Market, dear :)
     
  21. DisOrBust

    DisOrBust <font color=CC66CC>Tag Fairy does tags only, the A

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2000
    Messages:
    2,032
    We were there in 2001. Some of it was good. Loved the pool and I thought the landscaping was nicer then PO. HOWEVER, the pepper market was a complete lpia. We wait 20 minutes for a table then 20 minutes to order food and then 20 minutes to pay. It was a HUGE time sucker which is what you DON'T need at a food court. Besides the food was not very good. I never realized how much we depend on hte food court when were at WDW until that trip. CS for us is off our list...at least until the PM systems gets an overhaul.
     

Share This Page