How to cope with a neurological disorder in the parks

TinkFan74

DIS Veteran
My daughter has asked a friend to accompany us on our upcoming trip to WDW, unfortunately her friend has recently been diagnosed with chiari malformation type I, and she is having difficulty with her balance, coordination, ringing in her ears, nausea and headaches. Her doctor has said that it is safe for her to go with us as long as she doesn't go on any thrill rides and does not over exert herself. The girl's mother is still allowing her to come with us, and I feel comfortable having her come along (I am a nurse, and believe I will be able to monitor and manage the situation), but I have never dealt with medical issues like this one while on vacation, is there anything that I need to know? Would this be an instance where a wheelchair would be acceptable due to her balance and coordination concerns? Has anybody else dealt with neurological issues in the past and have advice for me? I am open to all suggestions,
TIA
Stacey

My daughter has asked a friend to accompany us on our upcoming trip to WDW, unfortunately her friend has recently been diagnosed with chiari malformation type I, and she is having difficulty with her balance, coordination, ringing in her ears, nausea and headaches. Her doctor has said that it is safe for her to go with us as long as she doesn't go on any thrill rides and does not over exert herself. The girl's mother is still allowing her to come with us, and I feel comfortable having her come along (I am a nurse, and believe I will be able to monitor and manage the situation), but I have never dealt with medical issues like this one while on vacation, is there anything that I need to know? Would this be an instance where a wheelchair would be acceptable due to her balance and coordination concerns? Has anybody else dealt with neurological issues in the past and have advice for me? I am open to all suggestions,
TIA
Stacey