How do you scope out available rooms on Disney cruise ships?

Discussion in 'Disney Cruise Line Forum' started by BlueStar777, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. BlueStar777

    BlueStar777 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I've seen a few references in different threads on how one can see which rooms are still available on Disney cruise ships. Just wondering how people are doing this. We were able to see available rooms and select our cabin at time of booking, but have not been able to scope out what is still left in room inventory afterwards. I mean, we could try to change our room online, I suppose, just to glance at what might still be out there...but that seems like so much work!

    Just trying to feel out odds of if we will be able to do a port upgrade from concierge family ocean view stateroom with verandah, to a one bedroom suite.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. PrincessShmoo

    PrincessShmoo DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19,916
    Just go to the DCL site and start doing a booking. After you find out what rooms are available to choose from cancel the booking. It will only show a few rooms within the categories that you check, but it'll give you an idea if there's a lot left or not.

    :cutie:
     
  4. su_A_ve

    su_A_ve DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,188
    I also use expedia. Also, do just 2 adults. It'll give you more rooms available that might not show if doing a family.
     
  5. BlueStar777

    BlueStar777 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Well, that wasn't too smart...I don't know how I messed it up, but now I have booked my dogs onto the cruise. :rotfl2:

    Went through the whole process using my dogs' names and somehow the reservations system never allowed me to choose a room, which I assume means that there aren't many available; it simply assigned a room. So I never actually got to see the map of available rooms! Chose the 'hold room for two days' option and never gave credit card number or otherwise paid deposit. So I assume that if I don't pay the deposit, the reservation is automatically cancelled per DCL policy, right? Otherwise, my dogs are going on a friggin' nice vacation. LOL! pug:

    I should really just call the cruise line and 'fess up. I assume they will laugh out loud when they find out.
     
  6. PrincessShmoo

    PrincessShmoo DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19,916
    I don't understand that.

    On the DCL site you select a cruise. Then select your stateroom category, click "continue".

    You're now on a page that says Customize your Cruise - Overview. About 1/3 of the way down is STATEROOMS
    Stateroom: Deluxe Oceanview StateroomHelp, Category XXX Change. Click on "Change"

    You're now on a page that says "Customize Your Cruise - Staterooms" Under Stateroom 1 it says "Stateroom Number Not selected +select". Click on "select" and it take you to a page with a selection of rooms.

    Under the room numbers is "Save" or "Cancel". Click "Cancel" at this point and you're out.

    No need to give any names, or request a hold. :confused3

    :cutie:
     
  7. jessa07

    jessa07 Can we do RnRC one more time??

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    :rotfl:

    After you select your room category, the next page will tell you you can add a stateroom. You click that, and the next page may or may not have a stateroom "assigned" to you...that, or it says "not assigned"...I believe there's a link next to that that says "change" and that's where you see it. I'm surprised I don't know this by heart, we've been playing with this exact thing for about a week now, trying to pick a sailing date!
     
  8. woody73

    woody73 <font color=darkorange>Enjoyed the Pumpkinmen<br><

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,391
    No problem. They can hang out with Goofy and Pluto.

    Woody
     
  9. SuperDry

    SuperDry DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    So, how do you go about getting a particular room if that's what you want? Also, what about if you want to get two connecting rooms, without caring (much) about what particular rooms they are?

    Just doing some browsing for far-future cruises that are unlikely to be anywhere near fully booked at this point, I see what you refer to above - there appear to only be a handful of rooms in each category that are shown on the website. Perhaps this is for competitive reasons so that it's not easy to tell how well a particular sailing is selling. But it makes it difficult if what you want to do is shop very specifically.
     
  10. pyramid2000

    pyramid2000 <font color=blue>Member of the DD Geek invasion of

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    10,446
    You can enter a specific room number. If it is available, it will book it for you.
     
  11. cwdefouw

    cwdefouw DVC Member since 1999

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    There is obviously some confusion so let's clarify this a little...

    After you choose a category and you click on "select a Stateroom", You can choose from the choices they give you or enter a specific room number (of course it is helpful if the specific room number is in the category you are currently exploring, the color deck plans can provide that information), if that specific room is not available, it will let you know. If it is available, it will choose that room for you. There are still several more steps to be taken before the room is actually "Booked" including putting in names and deposit information. If you are not actually "Booking" the cabin, you can just cancel after you find out if the room is available.

    Once you have done this process a few times, it is very easy to check available inventory. I have been doing it once a week for over a year, monitoring availability of Cat 4's and Cat 00T's for the Panama Canal cruise this May. One caveat, Disney frequently does things to the inventory that can make it appear that there are no cabins available in a specific category, especially when the sail date approaches after the PIF date. Then when you check a day or two later, you will see there are many cabins available in that category. So always double check if you don't see the category you are looking for.
     
  12. WeLoveDisneyAlways

    WeLoveDisneyAlways DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    579
    Just want to add that lots of the rooms don't show available that are. We needed connecting rooms I thought they didn't have any so I called and to my surprise most of them were available just not online
     
  13. TinkEBell

    TinkEBell "It's Goooood" *In my PIP voice*

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    33

    I booked our May 12, 2013 cruise online and I was never given the option to select a specific room location or number either. I like the room we were assigned but I think it would have been fun to look at available rooms and select my own :)

    BTW: Lucky dogs :thumbsup2
     
  14. MND

    MND DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,178
    I think your dogs may enjoy the cruise!
     
  15. quickcat

    quickcat Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    That is funny!
    :lmao:
     
  16. mmouse37

    mmouse37 DCL Diva!!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    27,189
    The place to select a specific room or see what rooms are available is very easy to miss in the booking process.

    MJ
     
  17. jlmarr

    jlmarr See you at Fenton's

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,873
    Lucky dogs!
     
  18. MDennis28

    MDennis28 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Be sure and ask for special diet needs LOL! Milk and bones with room service...
     
  19. Jammy93

    Jammy93 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    I find it easier and faster to search on Expedia.
     

Share This Page