Hotwire car rental?

Discussion in 'Budget Board' started by AK_Christina, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. AK_Christina

    AK_Christina Khaleesi of the North

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Has anyone rented a car with hotwire.com? I just used them for a recent trip of DHs in LA. The rental was supposed to be unlimited miles but at the end of the day we got charged $77 in mileage. (Hotwire says Enterprise did not pass along to them that there was geographical restrictions or something of the like) I am waiting to hear back from Hotwire to see if they will be reimbursing me for this charge since it was not stated in my original booking.

    But that being said I had been planning on renting from them for our Disney trip come June as they are over $100 cheaper than anywhere else I can find but it will obviously NOT be a bargain if I get hit with mileage charges for 10 days worth of driving around.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. Strawberry's mom&dad

    Strawberry's mom&dad DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    685
    We rent through Hotwire all the time and have never had a problem.We were just at WDW and got a midsize from Hertz for $150. Have used several different companies through them and have never been charged extra. It seems like enterprise may have made the error.
     
  4. jennyf2

    jennyf2 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,115
    I've used hotwire many times & have never been charged a mileage fee....hopefully it was a glitch & you get your $$ back. Good luck :)
     
  5. AK_Christina

    AK_Christina Khaleesi of the North

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Yay! I was hoping that people would have positive experiences there in the Orlando area. Thinking I will wait and see if they refund my money from the first rental, then use that towards the Disney one. =)
     
  6. Kat&Dom

    Kat&Dom DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    I have used hotwire numerous times and never had to pay any extra fees - I have rented at Orlando 4 times, in Hawaii (Big Island & Maui) with no problems at all.

    None of my rentals were with Enterprise though, I personally don't like the company - I hit a deer a couple of years ago after Christmas and my insurance agency only dealt with Enterprise - well, driving home with the car rental, the windshield cracked (it was 50 below 0 so extremely cold) and since the windshield had cracked while I was driving it, I had to pay for it ($450). I will not rent from them ever just on principle. If I had done something that caused the crack, I would have been okay paying but I didn't.
     
  7. jrtoastyman

    jrtoastyman Purveyor of Fine Latex Products

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,196
    Have any of you used hotwire to rent a car from Disney property rather than from the airport? Only need it for a couple of days out of our trip and am considering using hotwire, but I'm concerned that it might book me with a company that is awkward to get to or something. Will be staying at AKL at the time.
     
  8. ExpatDisneyLover

    ExpatDisneyLover DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,234
    I rented through hotwire in the Orlando area and didn't have a problem - the rental was through Alamo - no extra charges. I am using hotwire again for my next trip - got Alamo again. :) All my hotwire rentals have been from the airport.
     
  9. hrslvr142

    hrslvr142 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Interested in the same thing as jrtoastyman about hotwire around Disney, not at the airport. TIA
     
  10. MrsJackSparrow4Life

    MrsJackSparrow4Life DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605
    I rented a car in Orlando through Hotwire last November and it ended up being an Enterprise car. We drove that car all around Orlando and took a trip to the Kennedy Space Center without being charged any extra.

    You shouldn't have a problem but then again you shouldn't have had a problem in the LA area either :confused3
     

Share This Page