Hooking up internet

Discussion in 'DVC-Mousecellaneous' started by DHar, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. DHar

    DHar Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    We have a trip in sept at VWL and in dec at BLT. 2 BR each time - 6 people all with laptops / smartphones. Can you just plug the ethernet into a router and have all devices work wireless or does the laptop need to be hooked up to the ethernet and then go to the router......i'm not real computer literate.

    thanks
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. disneynutz

    disneynutz DIS Veteran DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20,572
    You need a computer or some way to do the login. Disney is also known for logging you off in between DIS posts so type fast! :goodvibes

    :earsboy: Bill
     
  4. thebigman65

    thebigman65 "Come on Dragon....Time to go fetch Mulan!"

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    once you have the router set up and you log on to the network with one of your laptops, all other devices will work as long as they are connected to the router. You must log on once a day as it is charged per day then credited back to you if you are DVC.
     
  5. DVC_Dreamer

    DVC_Dreamer If you can dream it, you can do it. Always remembe

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    We stayed at BLT last week. I brought my home wireless router. First night, couldn't get it to work with iPad and MacBook. I called help desk in am and they said they didn't support it. They suggested connecting laptop and then router . I wasn't clear on what she was suggesting but it worked later that night without me changing a thing. You get their splash screen, accept and your in. It can be spotty for connectivity. Enjoy.
     
  6. Kidanifan08

    Kidanifan08 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,774
    We were at OKW 2 weeks ago and I took a travel router. I just connected it to the Ethernet cable and it worked fine. I used it with my iPad without any problems. When I opened Safari, the DVC Internet login page loaded automatically and I just accepted the terms and started surfing.
     
  7. DHar

    DHar Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    thanks for the replies...i'm gonna buy a travel router and we'll see how it goes.....:thumbsup2
     
  8. Donald_Quackers

    Donald_Quackers Quacktastic!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,386
    I got an apple airport - works like a champ, just don't forget to pack it when you leave! I lost one that way.
     
  9. iteachlit

    iteachlit DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Apple makes great products, so you can't go wrong with the Airport Express. HOWEVER... the Airport Express costs $99. You can find a cheaper alternative.

    I found this TRENDnet travel router for $52 at newegg.com.

    I have a D-LINK wireless G version I bought a few years ago. This is a wireless N version.

    It can be used as a router, access point or client mode. I have used it at WDW to connect iPhones, iPads and PC netbooks.

    The best thing is to configure it before you leave home; the settings will remain on the router even when the power is disconnected.
     
  10. Kidanifan08

    Kidanifan08 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,774
    The Trendnet is the one I got. It is really small and portable and it was easy to set-up. My entire house is Apple, but I wanted something cheaper than the Airport for travel.
     
  11. toniosmom

    toniosmom AKV, BCV, BLT Owner!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    What's the difference between wireless G and N?

    TIA
     
  12. makthompson

    makthompson Mouseketeer DVC Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    415
    we had a laptop and we didnt need to hook up a router. we have a wireless card
     
  13. DebbieB

    DebbieB DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    Messages:
    48,205
    You hook the ethernet to the router. Mine was setup at home so my laptop picked up the signal right away. My friend searched for my signal, found it, I gave her my password and she was on.
     
  14. EWL

    EWL In Pursuit of Enchanted Tiki Birds

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 1999
    Messages:
    498
    Set up the travel router at home first and get it configured if you can, then test it with as many devices as you have and they should retain the settings. (if you set a password, make a note and keep it with the router so you can share it with the others when you are there.) We just plugged the router straight into the ethernet jack in the room and the ipads picked it right up. Open a new browser window on the ipad (or one of your laptops), accept the Disney terms that will pop up! And you are set Ours worked great. As someone mentioned, it does go idle after some period of time so you have to go back and open another new browser window and it will reconnect. And accept the terms again every 24 hours (they bill it in 24 hour segments-- free for dvc on points).
     
  15. DHar

    DHar Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    thanks for all the replies...i was hoping we could just plug the ethernet into the router and not have to go thru the laptop first...and thats how it looks.

    thanks!!
     
  16. Dean

    Dean DIS Veteran<br><a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 1999
    Messages:
    32,736
    I have both of the ones you have plus an Apple AE. I'm pretty sure the Trendnet is just an updated version of the D-link one with the wireless N and the push button WPA. One should be able to get it around $45-50 incl shipping. One should be able to get a refurbished AE for around $60-70 as well.

    As long as you set it up at home and have a browser access through on of the wireless device's to accept the terms, you should be fine. It's always a good idea to have a wired option though like a laptop. That way if things aren't working, you'll be able to trouble shoot better. There should be an ethernet cable in the room, they'll bring one if not.
     
  17. iteachlit

    iteachlit DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    I don't think anyone has answered this yet, so I will...

    Most new wireless routers will support B, G and N wireless devices. Wireless B is the original wireless standard; it is capable of speeds of 11Mbps, which is similar to old, hard-wired Ethernet.

    Wireless G supports up to 54Mbps. It uses a 2.4Ghz radio to give you longer range. Think of the difference between B and G as that between the old 900Mhz cordless phones and 2.4Ghz digital cordless handsets.

    Wireless N can support up to 100Mbps throughput. It also has increased range.

    Remember, all of these speeds are theoretical; real world performance will be slower. You are also at the mercy of your broadband connection's speed.

    A Wireless N router is almost always backwards compatible with G and B devices. Most new computers have Wireless N built in. Cellular phones typically still use Wireless G to save battery life.
     
  18. Mjkre

    Mjkre Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Thanks for this! But one more question...what does "always backwards compatible" mean?
     
  19. iteachlit

    iteachlit DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Don't miss the "almost" in what I wrote...

    Normally, the newer technology (N) will support devices that use the older technology (G or B). There are a few exceptions, but for the most part, a Wireless N router should support most devices made in the last 10 years.
     
  20. Dean

    Dean DIS Veteran<br><a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 1999
    Messages:
    32,736
    That an N router will work with B and G devices that don't have Wireless N capabilities.
     

Share This Page