Help me decide - CB or Dolphin

TrentzMom

Earning My Ears
We just returned from my first Christmas trip and it was wonderful! I could go to Disney every year, however DH does not share in my excitement...especially since we've been 3 times in the last 16 months. I have been trying to convince him since October that we should take the kids next December and he refuses.

When we got home yesterday, DH totally surprised me and said that maybe it would be fun to go back for our 15th anniversary in August (we did 13th there and had a great time). My first instinct was to book at CB...I've looked at staying there many times and it just hasn't worked out. Then I got online and started looking around. It is going to be a very quick trip - arriving early Thursday morning and leaving Sunday afternoon, 2 day tickets - because I am a teacher and have to be back for workweek. I have always wanted to try the Swan or Dolphin and a short trip would be the perfect time. With the teacher discount it is about the same price to stay at Dolphin than at CB, even with the extra charges at Dolphin. It seems a little more upscale than CB.

I love staying on property and I think that the Dolphin will be great. I just need someone to reassure me.

I've stayed at both and here are a few things to consider before making your final choice:

CB is more spread out that Dolphin.
CB does not have a bar inside, so if you want a cocktail you will need to count on the weather. If going in August, this could be iffy.

Dolphin is very nice but because it is not a 'Disney' owned property you will see a bit of difference in the service level.
Dolphin has a great location if you are an Epcot lover - it's nice being able to walk to the park as well as visit the Boardwalk area easily.
If you will have a car, be forewarned - there is a charge to park at the resort. This is different than the other Disney resorts.

For your purposes, Dolphin would get my vote.