1. Follow the DIS on Instagram! www.instagram.com/the.dis

Help! Did I buy scrappers on Ebay?

Discussion in 'Disney Collectors Board' started by mermaidblue!, Apr 11, 2013.

1. mermaidblue!

mermaidblue! Earning My Ears

My kids like to trade pins at the parks, so I decide to buy some pins. Problem is, I'm a novice at this! Our 3rd trip is next month, so I bought pins on Ebay. Opened the package today & my heart sank...what are these weird pins???

I got 50 and 8 are either gold or silver in color, and have no enamel/coloring at all. Are these the bad pins, the "scrappers"??? :sad1: Contacted the seller & they replied that the pins are "chasers". I know NOTHING about this stuff. :confused3 I Googled "chasers" and saw pics that look very similar to the pins I have. Never saw a "chaser" at WDW before, so I feel a bit wary. It looks like someone forgot to put enamel on it! Just want to make sure before I apologize to the seller & leave good feedback. Is it normal for a chaser to have raised lines? Like if you rub your finger over it, you can feel the ridges that make up the design?

2. Avatar

Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide this advert.
  3. CarolinaGirlTiss

CarolinaGirlTiss Mouseketeer

When I was there last week there were some gold and silver pins on the CMs lanyards. I think there are some that are legit. I would need to know the ebay sellers name to check out their pins and tell you whether I thought they sell scrapper or not. There is a thread on this same page that has good and bad ebay sellers. That might be helpful for you.

4. CarolinaGirlTiss

CarolinaGirlTiss Mouseketeer

5. mermaidblue!

mermaidblue! Earning My Ears

Thanks for the info & pic. My pins look like the pin in the Facebook photo, so I guess they really are chasers! You've been super helpful. :)

6. pixiewings71

pixiewings71 <marquee><font color=deeppink>Sweet!!! Totally!!!!

Chasers are not scrappers, they are pins made without paint or enamel. You're fine. :)