Help a complete novice!

UKDEB

Moderator Emeritus
OK, I know I've had all this explained to me before, but just humour me!

We like to spend most of our Orlando vacations in a private home, with a few nights onsite. Recently those few nights have been at Universal, but we're keen to do some Disney resorts again.

We'd probably want to spend about 3 nights a year at an onsite resort. Imagine I am stupid (those of you who know me shouldn't have too much trouble!) and tell me what to do!

Umm, Deb - are you asking what to do re: DVC, or just what to do generally? I'll assume that you mean with regard to DVC, as you've posted this on the DVC board! ;)

As you probably know, the DVC system is based on an annual allocation of points to be spent on varying sizes / locations of accommodations requiring different numbers of points according to time of year. (Confused yet? :confused: ) Then read on:

The minimum holding of points (to be replenished annually) is 150 - for your example of a 3 night stay per year, those 150 points would be enough for a 2-bedroom home on Sunday-Thursday during the most expensive times of year (Easter & Christmas), or a studio including Friday-Saturday nights (w/ends use more points per night). During the least expensive times of year (January, September, first half of December) 150 points would be enough for a two 2-bedroom home any 3 nights of the week. That applies to VWL, BCV and BWV preferred view; the points for OKW and BWV standard view are slightly less.

So basically, the minimum 150 points could accommodate a minimum of four of you for three nights any time of year, or up to eight of you if you travel at quieter DVC times of the year (Not necessarily the same as the 'traditional' Disney quiet times).
Imagine I am stupid (those of you who know me shouldn't have too much trouble!) and tell me what to do!
You could