Have to format compupter

Discussion in 'Photography Board' started by Master Mason, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. Master Mason

    Master Mason <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,510
    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.....

    My computer has something wrong with it, a few programs including lightroom no longer working etc..... guess I know what I am doing tomorrow.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. bostran1

    bostran1 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    404
    Good luck. I hated when I had to do that. It was a yearly thing for me up until I made the switch to my mac. Obviously, make sure everything is backed up!
     
  4. JR6ooo4

    JR6ooo4 <img src=http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/images

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,150
    Well quit buying your compupters at the pet store! Hehehehehee

    Mikeeee
     
  5. mickey2000

    mickey2000 Pin trader

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2000
    Messages:
    3,513
    Good Luck , Al
     
  6. WillCAD

    WillCAD Where there's a Will there's a way

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,837
    Don't worry about it, I still do it every year on my PCs. It's like cleaning out the fridge; no matter how clean you think you've been keeping it, you can always get rid of some garbage from the back of the bottom shelf and make it smell better.
     
  7. Master Mason

    Master Mason <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,510
    yea Will I do it about every year now too.... back in the win98 days I did it monthly if not more often.... just a pain, especially when I had pics I wanted to process today...
     
  8. miss missy

    miss missy Is this the Dis Board Desperate Housewives?!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    9,447
  9. manning

    manning <font color=blue>Just for that I have requested it

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    11,250
    Why don't you try Restore first.
     
  10. Master Mason

    Master Mason <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,510
    Never had any luck with restore, it changes the registry and then nothing works right anyway.... I am about half way done with the windows updates.

    on here on the kids laptop which is I find out in worse shape than mine, so apparently I will be getting to do this a second time as well....
     
  11. JR6ooo4

    JR6ooo4 <img src=http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/images

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,150
    Ya but with the kids you only have to load the latest game...


    THere is nothing like a fresh HD and OS.

    DId it often when I was racing sims online.

    Mikeeee
     
  12. Master Mason

    Master Mason <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,510
    actually the biggest problems I have seen with kids, is they just hit install with anything that pops up, no regard to what it is or what it does...

    Then they have to have invasive programs to update their myspace pages etc..... but I guess it is the only way they learn...

    when I update this one, he will get to sit there with me, let him feel the joy of watching a loading screen...
     
  13. Sha

    Sha °O°Believes in the Magic and Fairies! ~ Laughter i

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6,560
    Good luck Mason! at least when you do the laptop you will know what to do... or walk him through it???
     
  14. Master Mason

    Master Mason <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,510
    yes I know what to do, but it will be a good learning experience for him... I couldn't even get into chat tonight because the kids computer wouldn't load the java program...
     
  15. JR6ooo4

    JR6ooo4 <img src=http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/images

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,150
    How old are the kids?

    have them watch the sliders and then read you the options. Then tell them what to click. Then they are realy doing it. And if they click wrong it hurts nothing. since you just wiped the drive anyway.

    Mikeeee
     
  16. Master Mason

    Master Mason <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,510
    he is 15, well if you ask him he is 15 1/2 lol and yes that is my plan, I am going to let him do it, and lead the way for him. It will take me longer that way, but he will learn what to do, and get an apprication for the issues he created.
     
  17. Sha

    Sha °O°Believes in the Magic and Fairies! ~ Laughter i

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6,560
    It was very quiet last night.... didnt miss anything really. check email?
     
  18. mill4023

    mill4023 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,822
    I feel your pain. We had a massive spyware infestation a couple weeks ago. I've scanned multiple times with Spybot and Ad-Aware and everything is coming up clean now, but it's still running very slow, so it's time to wipe it and start from scratch.
     

Share This Page