Hate this new website!!!!!

Discussion in 'Disney Resorts' started by Coconuts, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. El Perro

    El Perro Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    they've finally rolled back to the previous version of the website. I'm shocked it took this long. What a disaster.
     
  2. Avatar

    DIS Sponsor The Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin is located in the heart of the Walt Disney World Reosrt.

    to hide this advert.
  3. mickeystoontown

    mickeystoontown DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    26,379
    I'm still seeing the new site.
     
  4. HMANSION LOVER

    HMANSION LOVER PIN TRADER

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Did they secretly rehire eisner,:mad: this is something that seems like he would do, screw everything up
     
  5. El Perro

    El Perro Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Yeah, the "new" site was back up pretty quickly. Hope they had a new version that they were working on with a lot of bug fixes but it appears some are still having problems.

    Putting this new site out there while releasing new discounts was not a good idea. I'm sure the marketing department did not like seeing the numbers when they showed up to work yesterday - hard to make a lot of sales when there are 1 hour hold times due to people having problems with the website.
     
  6. bookgirl

    bookgirl DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,652
    you know I don't hate the new website


    Maybe because I already had the My Disney Experience App. I just went to that drop down menu put in my RO reservation conf # and it linked. It knew I had the app and had my information from when I registered it on my phone and just made me update. I will say that for the first 24 hours I couldn't pull up my details (I recieved a message that it could not show but would link the number to my profile anyway) but it did link my reservation to the site. ETA: Just went and checked and it is still there but not showing my prices/details. Not sure if that is because they are still working or if it is the fact that it was a live reservation. They do have a notice up that you have to manually like conf if you did not use the web to book.

    Other than that I haven't had any problems.

    Maybe I got it at a hassle free time, or because I was already using the app or maybe I just don't sweat change that much so was more relaxed when I tried it but except for the extra step of getting My Disney Experience up and going it doesn't seem that different than the old system, which would lose my reservations/adrs about every 3 days so I'd have to reenter them all again anyway. So not much different.
     
  7. El Perro

    El Perro Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    don't get me wrong - there are some GREAT features on the site and I like a lot that is there. Unfortunately they did a TERRIBLE job migrating the information from the previous systems to the new ones. There are also several areas that are just downright broken.

    After doing some research I have a pretty good idea what went wrong and why (there are symptoms of organizational problems I deal with on a daily basis). Maybe I can find a way to make a consulting engagement out of it and make money off of Disney for a change? :cool1:
     
  8. mickeystoontown

    mickeystoontown DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    26,379
    Just went back to the Disney site to see if I could book the Fantasmic Package. As soon as I logged in, both of our resort reservations and all of my dining reservations showed up.
     
  9. mrunn0080

    mrunn0080 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    I always had trouble with disney travel websites since 2008, however now I have no problems at all, since I discovered google chrome and firefox. One of those web browsers works better than the other, depending on your computer type.

    Since I upgraded to windows 8, I have had really no trouble at all with any websites, so long as I use firefox or chrome.

    I get so frustrated when internet explorer does not work! I wish microsoft would fix it.
     
  10. MinnieSummer

    MinnieSummer DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,127
    I can't even look to see what is available for AP holders. No matter what I do it says I have to have a valid AP. I DO have one AND it shows up on my profile. I really want to plan a trip for my Daughter's break but can't even get an idea of the cost. I may just go skiing instead. It would probably be cheaper and less of a headache planning it.
     
  11. turning into fanatic

    turning into fanatic Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    I have been trying to book a trip and it keeps saying error after I enter my family information. Is this because of the new website?? I may try a different computer.
     
  12. mana'olana

    mana'olana Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    168
    I'm just trying to get prices for a week in April and the stupid thing just sits there and clocks and clocks. This new site sucks!
     
  13. HawkeyeThad

    HawkeyeThad Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    I've been dealing with this the last few days as well. Tells me that I need a valid annual pass in order to view the resort deals. I HAVE ONE! IT'S ASSOCIATED TO MY PROFILE!! I sent an e-mail yesterday telling them about the issue. They wrote back this morning and said that I should call them to make a reservation. I'm just trying to price a trip, I don't want to call in to do that. This is ridiculous.
     
  14. coconutprincess

    coconutprincess DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    agreed. It was so slow, and took way too much time to load and just "think" in general.
     
  15. cleverclovers

    cleverclovers Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    I just want to get an estimate for a trip in June. How do you find out how much the taxes will be? I don't want to book until I know I have enough money for the entire trip. Maybe I'll just book through AAA.
     
  16. AntFarm

    AntFarm Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    200
    I've been getting the server is busy message a lot over past couple days when trying to pull up my reservations. Is there a light at the end of this tunnel?
     
  17. alecshawn

    alecshawn WDW Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    215
    Agreed...I have used Macs for the last ....15 years....with Safari being a superior browser...as long since I can remember Disneys web site has worked pretty much flawlessly for me....the current new one....I love. I agree that Internet explorer is withering on the vine.
     
  18. Piglet54

    Piglet54 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    I finally got it to work for me today!!!!!!
     
  19. KBoopaloo

    KBoopaloo DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    944
    This is now my number 1 problem. I hadn't been getting through at all for a while. Now it lets me go through the motion of booking a dining reservation but when I get to the last step, I get the Server Busy notice. GRRRR.

    I have tried calling once but was told to call back because their systems were down. It shouldn' t be this hard to book restaurant reservations.
     
  20. RachelTori

    RachelTori <font color=red>AKL Jambo Wildbunch<br><img src=ht

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    13,448
    This has been my issue since Tuesday. Prior to that, I was able to book ADRs online. :confused3

    All my reservations (resort & dining) are showing up so that's a relief!!

    I finally tried to make ADRs on my laptop today - just in case something is screwy with my desktop. Got the same "server busy" message. :headache:
     
  21. 5bound4wdw

    5bound4wdw Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    I miss the ticker that counted down the days till our vacation...:(
     

Share This Page