Has anyone ever brought a Roku with them?

Discussion in 'Disney Resorts' started by jeepster93, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. jeepster93

    jeepster93 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Thinking about throwing the Roku in a bag along with an HDMI cable to stream Netflix etc on the TV at POR. Has anyone done this before? Results?
     
  2. Avatar

    DIS Sponsor The Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin is located in the heart of the Walt Disney World Reosrt.

    to hide this advert.
  3. mommyarewegoingback

    mommyarewegoingback DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    690
    Honestly, the wifi is not great and definitely has trouble just streaming you tube. I've tried it at CSR, AKL and BWV within the past 6 months and POR may 2012. Sorry.
    -Virginia
     
  4. Evansvillegirl26

    Evansvillegirl26 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    225
    agreed. Their wifi is no nearly fast enough for streaming. Better to pack a small dvd player or download some movies on a tablet.
     
  5. baler31

    baler31 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,014
    Not Roku, but we have not had any issues streaming hulu plus and netflix on various ipads, kindles, and laptops while at Disney.
     
  6. jeepster93

    jeepster93 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Thank you! I did do netflix last year to get my downton abbey fix during rainstorms using my tiny netbook- so maybe I'll just stick to that. Good advice! I will leave it at home. Less to Schlep around!
     
  7. DisneyFam5

    DisneyFam5 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    We broght the Roku down this month and it worked great at Kidani at AKL and at the Beach Club Villas
     
  8. tazleiten12

    tazleiten12 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    Last time we brought a Roku, I couldn't get it to work. I thought it had something do with signing in to Disney to use the free WiFi. When we would access the internet on our laptop, I had to click yes and agree to the terms before i could proceed. I couldn't do that on the Roku, so it didn't work. Of course this was when they first started the free WiFi, has it changed?
    THANKS!

     
  9. PictureJumpr

    PictureJumpr At Least 'til it Rains

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,612
    I've never tried to use Roku at WDW but have had to work around this when using it in other hotel wifi connections where you have to accept a TOS or enter a room number/code or whatever. Usually I just use my laptop to spoof the Roku box's MAC ID; accept the terms; and then turn off the laptop and use the Roku.

    Might have to try this next time I'm at WDW just to see... that would be one way to make sure we can get the classic Disney cartoons in the room :woohoo:
     
  10. itsMichelle

    itsMichelle Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    I was able to stream Greys Anatomy through my mothers Netbook when we stayed at the Dolphin. We had no issues but we were on the Dolphins WiFi (I don't know if it's any better then Disneys though)!
     
  11. scdak

    scdak DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    862
    Wait a minute, you mean to tell me that there are Tv's in the resort rooms? Just kidding, I know that there are but I don't think we turned ours on once during a 10 day trip last fall, no wait, one day I checked the weather channel because we were there when Hurricane Sandy was doing her destruction and wanted an update on her path but otherwise I was too beat to think about TV or movies, heck, we took DVD's with us to watch on the laptop and never even unpacked them! I planned WAY too much to do for our trip and the next trip I will only plan 1/2 as much so I can rest in the room at times and enjoy movies that I don't have time to watch at home. :cool1:
     
  12. MinnieLovesMickey12

    MinnieLovesMickey12 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,100
    We brought our Roku last trip and it would not work. It has something to do with you having to log into the internet to get the Roku to work and we couldn't get it to work. Maybe someone else has had better luck than we did I haven't read any of the responses yet.
     

Share This Page