Getting a better picture on new TV

Discussion in 'Community Board' started by JanetRose, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. JanetRose

    JanetRose <font color=blue>Do I need to know why Captain Spa

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,918
    Just purchased a new TV and not getting the best picture.

    I guess it would help if I brought the component wires (green, blue, red, white and red) to hook between the TV and VCR player?

    thanks!
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. ilovemk76

    ilovemk76 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,495
    What TV did you get? I would not expect a great picture with a VCR and old tapes. The old VCR probably uses the R/W/Y output.

    The new TVs use the HDMI cable.
     
  4. JanetRose

    JanetRose <font color=blue>Do I need to know why Captain Spa

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,918
    I got a VIZIO Tv but the Vcr/Dvd player does not have a HDMI slot. I also do not have High-definition Tv, if that matters. I haven't tried watching Dvds yet, just DISH tv shows. The Tv is in a room with no DISH box as it's the second Tv on DISH.
     
  5. DawnM

    DawnM Dawn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,904
    Ok, now I am curious.....what VIZIO did you get? I didn't think they even sold TVs now that weren't High Def.

    Dawn

     
  6. JanetRose

    JanetRose <font color=blue>Do I need to know why Captain Spa

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,918
    I don't pay for HD Tv thru DISH.
     
  7. ilovemk76

    ilovemk76 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,495
    The TV could still be an HDTV even if you do not pay for the HD channels.
     
  8. JanetRose

    JanetRose <font color=blue>Do I need to know why Captain Spa

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,918
    The Tv is a HD Tv.
     
  9. msjprincess

    msjprincess DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,137
    Doesn't Dish have free HDTV for life or something like that?
     
  10. Albort

    Albort ODV Crew

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7,450
    what u mean by better picture?
    VCRs are just bad pictures in general. They are analogy(i believe) unlike DVDs which are digital.
    Is the picture dark? Less color? fuzzy?
     
  11. sam_gordon

    sam_gordon DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10,698
    You still need to get HD receivers. Also, depending on how old the setup is, you might need a new antenna (or a repoint).
     
  12. sam_gordon

    sam_gordon DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10,698
    OK, as far as what you can do with what you have now... if your Dish receiver offers component (red, green, blue) hookups, use that. That will give you the better picture. You'll need additional wires (red, white) for the sound.

    Now, since you say you only have SD Dish, just know that won't give you the best possible picture. In fact, watching SD on an HD TV could emphasize how bad the signal is. Depending on the channel(s) you're watching, Dish might be compressing the signal, making the picture worse. This is not a slam on Dish. All content providers (Dish, Direct, Comcast, Time Warner, other cable ops) compress the channels.

    Now, depending on where you live and where the local broadcast towers are, you might be able to get the "big 4" networks (NBC, ABC, CBS, FOX) using an antenna.
     
  13. DarthKTrava

    DarthKTrava Carolina Panthers Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,080
    So does Time Warner. But I don't want to have to learn new channels.

    I bought a new tv and had to go into the settings menu to pick from several viewing options: sports, cinema, widescreen, zoom..... :confused3
     
  14. erincon23

    erincon23 <font color=blue>Everyone must have gotten a life

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,700
    We went through this earlier this year, back and forth with DirecTv when we bought a new television. Bottom line is, with an HDTV, which they all are now, you MUST have HD service in order to get a decent picture. The connections alone aren't going to do it for you. If you have other TVs in your home that are not HD, they'll still work with the HD service, but the new one will annoy the crap out of you until you get the HD service.
     
  15. sam_gordon

    sam_gordon DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10,698
    Speaking for Dish, the HD version of a channel is the same number as the SD.
     
  16. tvguy

    tvguy Question anything the facts don't support.

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    19,497
    Most are HD, not all. Checking the Target website they still sell some 480i SD only TV's.

    HD looks great, but not great enough yet for me to throw away my 2 working SD TV's and spend hundreds on a new TV. Actually, any TV I would want stil runs about $1,300. So when one of the old ones dies, I'll jump. Actually, my son has an HDTV, but it's only hooked up to his X box!
     
  17. SandrA9810

    SandrA9810 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,393
    We just got a new plasma, and the over the air stations look great on it. That's using a coaxel cable for hook up. There's even the Antenna TV channel that shows all the old shows like Denise the Menise and Leave it to Beaver. It looks the same here as it does on my aunt's really old 80's CRT tv.

    You also want to make sure you have your TV set up for home use, not store use. They program TV's now to have much brighter screens for store displays, but it can kill a TV and it looks awful in a home setting.
     

Share This Page