FW in January

tylerzmommy

Earning My Ears
Good Afternoon! I'm new to the DIS board but have established that you are all very knowledgeable about Disney, FW, and the whole experience. I'm hoping that y'all will be able to share your tips and tricks with me for our upcoming (and FIRST!!!!) trip to Disney. Here are the specs:

We will be staying at Fort Wildnerness January 19-26th and will be staying in our truck camper. Because the camper will be in the bed of the truck (and hooked up to the "stuff" at the campsite), we'll be without transportation. We'll be coming from Virginia and are not familiar with the weather in FL in January.

For those of you who have been there/done that, what advice would you give? What is the weather typically like in January (hence, how should I pack)? What advice would you give to a newbie coming down to FW? What's the transportation like? I'd appreciate any advice/input/insight you can offer.

I'm planning the trip on my own as it is a complete surprise for my husband and our 7 year old son and they won't be let in on the secret until the day before we leave. I'm SO overwhelmed right now! Thanks!! :)

Welcome to the boards. You can get a lot of great information from here and you have a great question to boot. I been vacationing in FL for a few years around the new year and now to learn that you need to nearly pack for 3 seasons (depending on how your dress during warmer days.)

Most years we stay at FW the first week of January, this year we are arriving there on the 6th and staying for 2 weeks. On average during January its similar to late fall/early spring weather in VA. It can be 70 during the day and mild at night, or plummit into the 40's or lower if a cold front makes it far enough south.

Welcome to the camping board!!!!

We have seen high in 80's or high in 40's in Jan. You may need a tent for clothes only. We stayed at The WL one year with 11 suitcases. :rotfl: