Freezing Meals

amylevan

DIS Veteran
I'm reaching the end of my pregnancy (Yay!) and I want to start putting some meals in the freezer so that we don't take the easy way out and order out during those first few weeks of new baby and little sleep. However, I've never done any meal freezing before (it's just been DH and me...no need). So I have no idea what I'm doing.

My questions:

Do you assemble, bake and then freeze or assemble, freeze and bake later?

How long is stuff usually good in the freezer?

What do you use to freeze the food in? Tupperware containers?

I figured homemade mac n cheese and lasagna should both freeze well. Can anyone share some other good recipes?

First of all, CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!

Well for lasagna ( which freezes very well) you would not cook it first ( except the noodles of course). To freeze it cover the pan first with plastic wrap then use heavy duty or freezer aluminum foil to tightly cover. It should be good for a week or 2. The day you cook it, take it out of the freezer the day before and put in the fridge to thaw or take out in the morning for counter thaw. remove plastic before cooking

Soup is good to freeze and of course that would be cooked ahead of time. If you happen to have a roast chicken soon, then save whatever you and DH don't eat and boil the whole thing as a starter for your soup. Freeze it in a well sealled plastic container. A glass jar is likely to crack. Leave space at the top of the container as the soup will expand as it freezes.

I find it very helpful to keep browned hamburger an cut up cooked chicken breast in freezer ready to go. I cook the meat put it on cookie sheet till frozen then put it in a freezer bag which allows me to pull out however much I need for a meal.

Good for tacos, sloppy joes casseroles. 2 cups of meat is usually what I put in sloppy joes an tacos etc. I add it as I start heating whatever I happen to be fixing. Being loose instead of a big glob helps it heat faster.