Faith, Trust, Pixie Dust and Determination: My Journey to a New Me

MouseketeerKelsey

Mouseketeer
Hi everyone. My name is Kelsey. I am 19 years old. My health is an issue, a story I will get into in just a moment. I am so glad I found this board.

I am a singer and I make my living making videos on YouTube which a lot of people find weird. I also am a blogger, so having a place like this is amazing for me. I never wanted to talk about my weightloss journey on any of my current platforms because it felt too public.

I love the Dis. It has been a home for me when things in life have been hard, so it only seems natural that my journey would happen here as well.

For the past 5 years I have fought some not so fun health problem, none of which were because of my weight. Things with my health are still bad and I was starting to feel hopeless, so I decided to do something. I decided to take the one part of my health that I can control into my own hands, my weight.

It's hard, I am not going to lie. I have extremely severe chronic abdominal pain. There are many days where I can not get out of bed and that has always been something that held me back. My thyroid is also real messed up, so that doesn't help. One thing I will mention once and then probably not talk about again, but is part of my story, is that I have struggled with bulimia in the past. It isn't something I am proud of, but it something that is part of my story. Binging has always been a problem for me and it is something I am working on in therapy.

I have had many surgeries and long story short, I am looking at a full hysterectomy within the next year. It is something I have accepted, but I want to be in the best physical shape I can possibly be in before that. It isn't as bad as it sounds, they already took out one ovary, lol!

Some may say I have a twisted sense of humor, but that is how I cope and it keeps me happy.