E-Bay...not as described

rockyroad

DIS Veteran
I am an E-Bay novice and need some advice.

I bought some silver spoons. They were described as sterling, but they are only plate.

How do I handle this?

Am I required to pay the shipping back on this item?

Will I be refunded for the shipping and insurance?

These spoons are not worth the shipping.

This is really going to depend on your seller. I would try a nice email first, then go from there. I know that as a seller, I am so much more apt to work it out with someone who doesn't approach it nasty right from the get go.

I have contacted the seller in a nice way.

He has responded in a not so nice way.

At what point would you put in a dispute with Pay Pal or Visa?

He described the spoons as sterling silver when they are only silver plate.
They are not even worth the shipping charges.

You should file "Item Not Received or Significantly Not As Described Process" with eBay. If you paid with PayPal you will be linked to PayPal to have them handle it.

Depending on what you paid, Ebay might not do a thing. I recently went through this same thing but the buy did agree to let me return the item but never sent my refund. Things have turned nasty with negative feedback being left for me since I left it for them, etc...

Anyway, I paid 9.99 for item so Ebay would not let me file a dispute. I'm not sure what the amount minimum is. Good luck to you!! I found out the hard way that all is not what it seems on Ebay!!!

I had to file a claim via PayPal and it was actually painless. The seller never sent my items. After I filed, PayPal contacted them and they did send the pckage so I withdew my claim. The seller (Glotux, BTW if you want to see someone with a LOT of negatives and still a high rating) has a lot of negatives where the buyer said PayPal refunded, so I think PP will be able to get your money back.