DVC website pet peeve

jekjones1558

Always happy at Disney
I have given up being peeved by the annoying music. Disney won't change this so I have to make my old lady brain remember to turn off sound. My new pet peeve is the lack of a logout button on some pages, e.g. if you do a booking request you need to go back to the search page to logout; or if you do online checkin, there is no way to logout without navigating to somewhere from the links at the bottom of the screen. I am not a programmer, so if someone out there can explain why this inconvenience is unavoidable, I would be happy to quit being a crab about it.

I am not a programmer, so if someone out there can explain why this inconvenience is unavoidable, I would be happy to quit being a crab about it.

My theory is that when you use the booking screen to query a reservation, the "offer" they've displayed to you is actually "held" inventory - if there was only one room, someone else making the same query a minute after you would see "unavailable" until you've decided

1) to select the offer and continue to booking, or
2) to change your query, in which case all the "held" inventory gets released and a new query is composed.

That's why, in my opinion, they want web site users to either book, or release, the inventory they've held in their query. If you simply close your web browser, the inventory hold expires after 15 minutes (or whatever time the site says you have to make up your mind) vs the minute it might take you to decide the query wasn't to your liking. Freeing held inventory quickly allows others to see it sooner.

Remember, if they didn't hold inventory for you when they display a query result, someone else could book the last room out from under your in-process booking request. Such a result would cause disappointment for all of us working to book popular times!