Does rented points = taxable income?

Caskbill

<font color="blue">DVC-Operations<br>DVC-Planning<
I hope this doesn't turn into a debate. But I've wondered if those who rent out points consider that income as taxable.

Now it's obvious that if I put some money in the stock market, and the stock went up and I got back more than I put in, that gain in money is considered taxable income.

So if someone has 100, or 5000 DVC points, pays $4.00 in dues and rents them out for $10 a point, is that 'gain' of $600 or $30,000, then taxable income.

Yes, there is an up front cost to buy the points in the first place. But many do their cash justifications in the first place by comparing that 'cost' to what would happen if they left the money in the market and compared the value of their DVC points to the value that money would make in the market. So the value in both cases means a gain in $$$$.

I'm no expert on tax laws by any means, but I believe with just a few exceptions (like a primary home), if you sell anything for more than you paid for it, the 'gain' on the sale is taxable.

If someone were to buy 2000 points, and never go to Disney themselves but always rent out the points, then over 40 years it is obvious that they would receive more in rental from those points than the total cost of the initial purchase and the annual fees. That gain is just as real as if it were made in the stock market. Or perhaps more applicable, buying an apartment building, charging rent, paying out for insurance, utilities etc, and still making a profit. I believe apartment owners have to pay income tax on that income after they deduct their legitimate expenses.

Now if you're renting out 30 points you can't use, I don't think anybody thinks it's a big deal. But what about those who practically make a business out of renting points? I wonder what the IRS does there?