Did You Know?

Discussion in 'DVC-Mousecellaneous' started by oakmanner, May 28, 2009.

  1. oakmanner

    oakmanner <br><img src="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/i

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,333
    Just got back from SSR last week. We had a two bedroom villa (dedicated) and was surprised to learn that only the internet connection in the master bedroom was "active".

    We had two lap tops with us ours and my kids who were staying in the second bedroom had theirs. The connection in the master bedroom worked no problem but when we tried to get the internet to work in the second bedroom we were unsuccessful.

    Eventually we called the front desk who in turn gave us a number to call the IT department which we did.

    The answer we got was this: That only the internet port in the master bedroom is "hot", that is the way they set up the villas at SSR. I didn’t ask but assume this is not an issue if you have a lock off unit given it may be used as a studio at times.

    Disappointing and doesn’t make a whole lot of sense given the internet jack is there. Oh yeah and they also said even if we wanted the port activated it would take a couple weeks because they use an outside contractor for this service.:confused3

    Ended up not being a big deal we were on vacation and internet access was not that important. But what if we were not staying with family and we had stayed with friends and they brought a computer? This would have been more of an issue.

    Thoughts? Any one else run into this issue? What about other DVC Resorts?
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. dianeschlicht

    dianeschlicht <font color=blue>DVC-Trivia Contest, Apr-2006: Hon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2000
    Messages:
    36,450
    Well now, THAT is stupid! Why bother to put the jack in there if it's not going to be hot????? We have solved teh problem of only one jack per unit by bringing a wireless router. That way both of us can use our laptops at the same time.
     
  4. wildernessDad

    wildernessDad DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,783
    That's pretty dumb. DUMB! They need to fix that problem.
     
  5. Disneypirate85

    Disneypirate85 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,060
    We travel with a 4 port hub and extra cat5 its smaller then a wireless router. Shawnpirate:
     
  6. MLK-RI

    MLK-RI Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Yes it does seem silly, but I've found it in most of the resorts. We also travel with a wireless router.
     
  7. LVSWL

    LVSWL <font color=teal>I may have to rethink whether or

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740
    Thanks OP! Just put Router on my list!:)
     
  8. Tara

    Tara Bad Influence

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    4,997
    That would have to be a mighty short length of cat5 to be smaller than an Apple Airport Express. ;)
     
  9. disneynutz

    disneynutz DIS Veteran DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20,347
    If you book a lock-off, you get two Internet connections and two AC thermostats.
     
  10. Doug7856

    Doug7856 DIS Veteran<br><a href="http://www.disboards.com/s

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,810
    We had the same issue with a 2BR dedicated at SSR. Never could figure out why they would do such a thing.
     
  11. DebbieB

    DebbieB DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    Messages:
    48,054
    If you bring a router, how do you connect it? Just put the cable into the back? I'm bringing my laptop, it's already programmed for that router. The actual program for the router is on my desktop, which is connected to the router by cable.
     
  12. tjkraz

    tjkraz <img src="http://www.wdwinfo.com/images/silver.jpg

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    13,365
    You may have to run the router's setup program in order to get it to interface with the resort's Internet service.

    If you do any amount of traveling, you might want to invest in a separate router for travel purposes. Your router from home would work, but you may spend a ton of time configuring and re-configuring it every time you leave/return. You can get a wireless travel router for about $50.
     
  13. Brian Noble

    Brian Noble His Curmudgeonly Highness

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    12,257
    Good advice. I have a travel wireless router that's about the size of a deck of cards. Love it.
     
  14. sibarb

    sibarb Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    We ran into the same problem with only one internet access at SSR in a dedicated 2BR. At OKW there was a router so we could access to two machines in the living room.

    This year are staying at Kidani Village does anyone know if there is more than 1 internet connection in the dedicated 2 Bedrooms.

    Thanks,
    Susan
     
  15. oakmanner

    oakmanner <br><img src="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/i

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,333
  16. toocherie

    toocherie <img src=http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/images DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,332
    Which section were you in? We were in a 2-bedroom dedicated last November in the Paddock and didn't have that issue--I used the connection in the second bedroom all the time.
     
  17. mecllap

    mecllap <font color=limegreen>"Skamps"<br><font color=mage

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,821
    It's so bizarre that they don't have wireless available to all guests -- just stayed at a HoJo and they even had it.
     
  18. kikiq

    kikiq DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,713
    I have the same question, which section? I just double checked with my brother and we were in a dedicated 2 bdrm last summer in Congress Park. I did set up my travel router so my daughters could get internet. My brother worked in his bedroom all week over the internet at night. The only thing we had to do was get another ethernet cord.
     
  19. Deb & Bill

    Deb & Bill DVC-Trivia Contest, Apr-2006: Honorable Mention

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    45,425
    It's evident that a contractor did all the installation in the villas. We're in the BCV right now and the HSIA is located behind the sleeper sofa in the living room. If you try to work on the table, the internet cable just barely reaches to the connection. There is a perfectly lovely desk in the master bedroom that would have made a great location to use the computer. Every hotel I've stayed in for business had the connection at the desk.
     

Share This Page