Dairy Free Shakes

Discussion in 'disABILITIES!' started by WsPrincess, May 22, 2012.

  1. WsPrincess

    WsPrincess DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,209
    I am posting here since so many people seem really knowledgeable about food things at Disney. I do not do milk well at all. I can handle it cooked in things but I avoid ice cream and obviously milk shakes. I wasn't planning to list dairy as an allergy since it is really just milk and certain cheeses that bother me and I just avoid them.

    If we eat at 50's PT Cafe or Sci Fi diner will it be a problem to order a dairy free shake or is it something that has to be noted ahead of time? I have to say from reading threads the thought of being able to enjoy a shake has me excited since it is something I cannot do without paying for it soon after.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. jworkkul

    jworkkul DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Ok, I'm puzzled:confused3 I thought a shake was made with ice cream and milk. What is a non-dairy shake? :confused:
     
  4. chloelovesdisney

    chloelovesdisney DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,627
    I know you can get a dairy free shake, because my sister is a vegan and has ordered them. It is noted on all of our adrs that she is vegan, and she calls each restaurant a week before we go to confirm and let the chef know. I don't think just for a shake that is necessary.

    I can't say that you will be able to get it everywhere, but I'm pretty sure you can at Sci Fi. Maybe just call them and find confirm? Or try searching for the vegan threads on the restaurant board, they talk about it there.
     
  5. chloelovesdisney

    chloelovesdisney DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,627
    There's a frozen soy product that's like ice cream, as well as soy and rice milk.
     
  6. clanmcculloch

    clanmcculloch DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,607
    I don't see why you'd have a problem. I probably wouldn't note the allergy on your ADR since you don't need your meal modified for small amounts of dairy, but I would mention to your server that you would like a milkshake made from soy ice cream and soy milk (or you can say rice ice cream and rice milk or any combination of these). Do you care about cross contamination with uncooked milk or ice cream? I'm asking because if you don't then you don't even need to ask for the chef to make sure that the ice cream mixer is cleaned thoroughly before making your shake. They don't have a dedicated allergy mixer so the chef has to give the mixer a very thorough cleaning if you need it. If you do then don't hesitate to ask; I'm just trying to make sure you understand the different options.
     
  7. WsPrincess

    WsPrincess DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,209
    Thank you so much! Small amounts I can handle so cross contamination isn't an issue, just drinking a milkshake with real dairy would put me out of commission for a while. I am so excited to know I can order this at least once on the trip!
     
  8. Random Ninja

    Random Ninja DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    I had a wonderfull chocolate milkshake made with Rice Dream ice cream at Sci-Fi back in January. It was awesome to have a milkshake for the first time in my life. The chef gave me a choice of vanilla or chocolate but I've heard other places sometimes have strawberry. It depends on what they have in stock. Tofutti ice cream is also available in some TS and at the MK ice cream parlor.
     
  9. nfceagles

    nfceagles Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    371
    I don't think you'll have a problem even if it's not noted ahead of time. My DH is growing increasingly lactose intolerant so he's given up real ice cream. We never note this on our ADR or speak to a chef about his meal. Our DS is genuinely allergic to milk so regularly gets soy ice cream based products including shakes. On our trip in January, my DS asked for a root beer made with Tofutti at Prime Time Cafe and Beaches and Cream. Both times my DH asked if they'd mind making him one too and they never objected or made any fuss. I think he briefly mentioned that he can't tolerate real ice cream.
     
  10. rani8600

    rani8600 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    I would totally recommend 50s primetime for a milkshake (you can even order them at the bar there if your not planning on eating there). I vegan and they were able to make me a peanut butter and jelly milkshake that was AMAZING, sooo yummy:goodvibes they have soy and rice milk and toffuti and rice dreams ice cream.
     
  11. munchmom

    munchmom Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    For those considering...Rice Dream is not dairy free, but lactose free.
     
  12. Talking Hands

    Talking Hands <font color=purple><b>|,,|/</b> DEAF DISNEY LOVER<

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,627
    I just checked the site and Rice Dream is indeed dairy free but is made in a plant that manufactures products that use milk. So if cross contamination is an issue then you would not want to use it.
     
  13. livndisney

    livndisney DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9,115
    From the website:

    RICE DREAM® Non-Dairy Frozen Desserts - Pints and Quarts

    RICE DREAM® Vanilla Frozen Dessert
    Indulge in the smooth creamy taste of delicious RICE DREAM frozen non-dairy desserts. We've combined the finest ingredients to create these dreamy non-dairy confections. These all natural treats contain no refined sugars, are USDA Organic, lactose free, cholesterol free and gluten free, and are available in a wide variety of dreamy flavors. Taste the DREAM™!
     
  14. clanmcculloch

    clanmcculloch DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,607
    Rice Dream is vegan and kosher pareve (suitable for eating with meat or milk meaning no trace of dairy or meat). Not sure where you got the idea that it's only lactose free. http://www.tastethedream.com/health/vegan.php http://www.tastethedream.com/health/kosher.php

    While I don't trust the company in general regarding their processes because of claims of being gluten free even when they had stated barley, the process of being declared kosher pareve is VERY strict. I do trust the kashrut organization that has certified them. I let my daughter who is casein intollerant but not gluten intollerant consume Rice Dream products with no worries. The circle U organization is VERY strict about cross contamination possibilities and will denote a DE rather than Pareve designation if there's a risk of cross contamination.
     
  15. hippieck12

    hippieck12 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Can you just pop in and order one at the counter??? That would be amazing, my son has dairy/egg allergies and this would be a great surprise for him! :banana:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. DisneyMom14

    DisneyMom14 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    926
    It is great to know there are options! My DS7 and I just found out today we are both allergic to milk. (We had our suspicions for a couple of weeks now but just confirmed.) We leave this Tuesday and I'm freaking out as to what he and I can eat that won't upset our stomachs. I called to add to our ADRs, but no information could be given about snacks. They told me to avoid the carts. No churro for me :(
     
  17. Random Ninja

    Random Ninja DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Yup, sadly churros are out. However, there are plenty of dairy-free snacks available. The popcorn at the stalls was df when i last checked. The ice cream carts have a frozen fruit bar. DF hot dog and hamburger buns are around the CS places. I like to get Cracker Jacks, they are made with mollasses not caramel, and Enjoy life cookies. At CS, ask for the allergy binder or to speak to a manager and they will help you get allergy-free food.
     
  18. nfceagles

    nfceagles Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    371
    I agree that the popcorn is dairy free, but the regular hot dog buns and hamburger buns are not unless they've changed recently. You may have to get an Udi's bun which would also be gluten free. If you're not used to gluten free bread products it may disappoint.
     
  19. Random Ninja

    Random Ninja DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    The last couple of times I've been the chefs have given me the regular buns because they said they were dairy free and I couldn't have the Udis buns. I'm here in Disney now and will be at MK in the morning. I'll check at lunch and report back. Since i'm here, are there any foods I can check for anybody?
     
  20. jlr9882

    jlr9882 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    There is a list they can send you with CS snacks and food. They sent me one for my son with 20+ allergies. We were offered Rice dream frozen treat instead of ice cream.
     
  21. Random Ninja

    Random Ninja DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    I got a burger at Electric Umbrella. The ingredients for the regular bun list lactic acid but dairy is not one of the allergens listed. I didn't see any other hidden dairy nor am I experiencing any allergy symptoms. So far, so good.
     

Share This Page