Corral placement & proof of time for challenges

MeridaAndAngus

If you had a chance to change your fate would you
Looking for some advice. I'll be running the Dumbo Double Dare this year. It'll be my first challenge race. I'm still a pretty slow runner, but I'm working on completing local 10ks & half marathons to help keep myself in shape & for a decent time to submit for the challenge.

I'd love some input based on past runDisney experiences on what proof of time will help keep me out of the dread last corrals for the Dumbo Double Dare. I remember reading last year some folks were upset with their challenge corral placement for Dumbo because it seemed like rD (or Track Shack) had assumed much slower times for Dumbo than people felt was realistic based on their proof of time.

Here's my scenario. My best half time so far is 3 hr 5 min. I'm a run-walk person, and I'm still in my first year of running. There's an upcoming local half on a course I've run before (fast & flat course). I think I could get myself to a just under 3 hr half on that course. There's also a 10k that same weekend (also fast & flat course). I think I can get to a 1 hr 15 min 10k on that course.

My question is, will a 3 hr half proof of time keep me out of the last corrals for Dumbo? What about a 75 min 10k time? Of these two times, is it better to submit my half time or 10k time?

I've heard rD uses the McMillan calculator to determine times, but how does that work for challenges like Dumbo? Do they just add on extra time assuming people will be tired from a two day race?

Looking for some advice. I'll be running the Dumbo Double Dare this year. It'll be my first challenge race. I'm still a pretty slow runner, but I'm working on completing local 10ks & half marathons to help keep myself in shape & for a decent time to submit for the challenge.