Confiscating power strips??

Discussion in 'Disney Cruise Line Forum' started by garbinda, Apr 15, 2013.

  1. garbinda

    garbinda Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Can anyone confirm or deny whether they are confiscating power strips? Heard a rumor that they are and I'd be very upset if true! On Wonder next week.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. lsutigger2

    lsutigger2 <a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/"targe

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,839
    I don't know the answer to your question, but am very interested to know as well.
     
  4. PrincessShmoo

    PrincessShmoo DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20,609
    I've seen a couple of reports where some said their extension cord was confiscated. I'm not sure why.

    We use this for all the charging we have to do, it has 3 outlets and 2 USB ports:
    [​IMG]
     
  5. MDTerp

    MDTerp Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    382
    We had no issues with ours on the Wonder two weeks ago.

    Sent from my iPad using DISBoards
     
  6. CrawfordMomof2

    CrawfordMomof2 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Thanks for posting that picture. I had never seen one that small. I think that we have to get one now. ;)
     
  7. queenofeverything

    queenofeverything Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    They did not confiscate mine! I think the issue is with extension cords, not power strips. They are not as safe. I know when my son went to college, they could have power strips in the dorms, but not extension cords
     
  8. PrincessShmoo

    PrincessShmoo DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20,609
    I got ours at WalMart. :)
     
  9. timweston

    timweston Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Prior to cruising a few weeks ago, I didn't know there was a potential issue with power strips on DCL. I used a Monster Outlets To Go power strip (three AC outlets and 1 USB port; available at Amazon) which is travel sized and I didn't run into any issues. I didn't attempt to hide it and I kept it plugged in all week without issue.
     
  10. Beermam42

    Beermam42 Grit and bear it

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    591
    Brough a 4 ft cord with a place to plug in 3 devices, Magic Feb. Was in checked bags. Have a great trip.
     
  11. lbgraves

    lbgraves Little Cinderella's Mommy

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    49,183
    Had a power strip in our carry on for the 3/23/13 Fantasy cruise. Nothing was said to us by security or our host and it was out on the desk all week.
     
  12. vcunning

    vcunning Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    279
    The great thing about this device is the input plug can rotate, so you can fit it into the odd, compact sockets on the ships. I have a couple of these. They're great


     
  13. garbinda

    garbinda Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks all! I heard the rumor and I figured I'd check it out! We bought a small travel one specifically for this trip so I didn't want to lose it.
     
  14. LindaBabe

    LindaBabe <br><img src="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/i

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 1999
    Messages:
    10,171
    I have always brought and used an extension cord for my cpap machine (the only way to get power to the head of the bed. I run it along the wall and over the hook that holds the curtain tieback, so it never crosses the floor. No one has ever messed with it. BUT it means I always have to sleep on the side of the bed where the desk is located.
     
  15. chateau

    chateau DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    827
    I like that.... recall where you purchased it?
     
  16. garbinda

    garbinda Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    MDTerp, two OT ?s for you- #1, are the safes still card swipes or keypads now?; #2, will I need a magnetic stripe card for the lights? Also read that somewhere...
     
  17. Jestocost

    Jestocost DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,948
    Doesn't really matter what you were able to get on board. Extension cords technically are not allowed and if found in checked or carry-on bags may be confiscated. Of course it's possible that they won't find it and you will be able to use it, but that doesn't mean they are allowed.

    I drove 80 MPH in a 65 MPH zone last week and didn't get a ticket. But that doesn't mean that I wouldn't have gotten one if the police had clocked me on their radar gun.
     
  18. BethC1952

    BethC1952 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    3,933
    I'm not MDTerp, but I can tell you that Wonder and Magic have keypad safes, and no card is needed for the lights!

    Beth
     
  19. IbeAbitGOOFY

    IbeAbitGOOFY Dis Dad #736

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    248
  20. MickeyWatcher

    MickeyWatcher Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    How long of an extension cord do you use? I have a cpap and have been wondering what length to bring.
     
  21. 1153rsmith

    1153rsmith DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,317
    On the Magic, my wife was able to plug her CPAP in beside the bed. There was an outlet for a clock that we used. I have always requested water and an extension cord (if needed) on our reservations before hand.

    We carry a small extension cord for charging purposes.

    We will be on the Wonder next Monday as well.
     

Share This Page