children on the DME?

Discussion in 'Transportation' started by jfletcher, Dec 16, 2006.

1. jfletcher

jfletcher Mouseketeer

This may seem a stupid question, but I'm a newbie to all this.

How do small children travel on the DME buses? We are going on a Disney cruise in a few weeks, and we have reserved transportation from MCO to a WDW hotel, then to the port the next morning, and back after the cruise.

We have never taken our kids (ages 7 and 3) on any sort of bus, so I don't know if they need car seats, or if the bus has them, or if we just let them sit in a seat like an adult.

This has also got me wondering about getting to the airport at home. Has anyone put small kids in regular seats in an airport shuttle?

2. CleveRocks

CleveRocks <font color=red>Rock 'n' Roller Coaster worshipper

There are no seat belts on DME buses, or on Disney Transport buses (the ones that go to the theme parks). This is standard in the busing industry. Since there are no seat belts, car seats can't be used.

As for the airport shuttle at home, for me it would depend on the size. I'm OK with no safety restraints on a large bus, but I definitely wouldn't be OK with that in, for instance, a passenger van. Size matters.

3. Dina

Dina DIS Veteran

I had a hard time with my 3yo on the bus going from MCO to WDW-- he was too wired and wouldn't sit down. Going back to MCO was fine though. I found the busses in the park much easier-- not sure why.

I don't think I would do an airprot shuttle without a car seat though.

I would have splurged for a private car service rather than DME just so I could strap my child in, but some don't have a carseat available unless you book a van, and we didn't/won't have our carseat with us, as my 3yo is tall and it's uncomfortable on the plane to sit in his carseat.

4. Avatar

Google AdSense Advertisement

5. CleveRocks

CleveRocks <font color=red>Rock 'n' Roller Coaster worshipper