Cell phone use at WDW

Discussion in 'Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board' started by disneyred, May 11, 2007.

  1. pampam

    pampam DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    3,158
    Not sure if you have a No frills, Value Mart etc in Newfoundland or not. If not, check out a Presidents choice long distance Card on the internet. You can't beat 4 cents a minute, and you can call from your Pop room or any pay phone.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. tribus121

    tribus121 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,733
    i would all so recommend the PC phone card you can get them at the super store and save easy .
     
  4. KeroKero

    KeroKero DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,026
    Sorry didn't feel to read through the whole thread (it's huge). My blackberry (Telus) is unlocked and I usually just change SIM's when I travel. I've never done it in the States, as I don't find the Telus rates that bad when in the US - this time I'm looking to change my SIM. Is there somewhere at MCO I can get a SIM from a US carrier? Or would I have to get one elsewhere before I get to my resort?
     
  5. SmilingGrump

    SmilingGrump Dis Dads Club Member #584

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    There's a couple of other options for keeping in touch that work for some people:

    1 - Google - if you have a gmail account, you can make calls from your gmail account to anywhere in Canada or the US for free through to the end of 2011 (there's a little "Call Phone" icon on the left). I've never tried it using my cell phone and a free wi-fi zone so I'm not sure if that works, but I've used it frequently via laptop. In fact, that's how my DW and kids kept in touch with me while they spent last summer in Arizona. Fees for overseas calls are VERY reasonable.

    2 - Skype - similar to Google, but requires both callers to have Skype. Allows free skype to skype calling anywhere in the world.

    They're not the most convenient options, but they're free. I still wind up getting a US package for my Rogers phone because of work, but this way I'm able to really limit the minutes I need to buy.
     
  6. scoop

    scoop Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    anyone with koodo use their phone down there or not worth it?
     
  7. KellifromCanada

    KellifromCanada Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Re: Telus Mobility Customers

    I was just on the phone with Telus Mobility (Alberta) to find out about cell phone use this January. I.haz.a.teenager. Feel.my.pain.

    Ok - so since her existing texting plan on her iPhone is "unlimited", they are suggesting their $20 US Travel Text Pass which continues the "unlimited" texting with no additional roaming, for 30 days. Forgive my ignorance, but is that possible - texting without roaming?

    Naturally I would want to confirm the rate again before we go. :upsidedow My BB has the same, so it will be $20 x 2 = $40.00 for unlimited texting, no additional roaming charges. I am okay with that. It means she can text her friends, we can text eachother, and dh. so that's good.

    Now, the data plan "US Travel Pass" is not so attractive but even more so, confusing!!! For their $10 Data Pass we get $1.00 per MB.

    How the heck do I estimate what a MB looks like in terms of actual usage??? On their website, it says 100 KB = "Facebook". Well, is that like, to click on FB and then click away? :rotfl: To leisurely visit FB and all your buddies???

    Like, I know she'll want to look at FB. So, a normal day at home, she'll want to read her News Feed and send messages, and chat. For hours. Naturally, that wouldn't be happening at DW, but how can I figure out *what* she *could* be allowed to do, say, if we were to ok "some" data usage....maybe like 5MB per day. Or, maybe we should just buy internet for the room periodically, and she can use the laptop to access the interwebs but no usage of data on the phone. Room internet is $9.95 per day, right?

    What to do ... what to do....

    Kelli
     
  8. disneyfan2

    disneyfan2 <font color=red>Dreaming about a Mouse<br><font co

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,820
    Kelli, I feel your pain. Same boat but I haven't spoke with Telus yet.. I have no idea how much data is used viewing Facebook, and I want to be somewhat prepared, or have DD forgo texting/Facebook for the week.

    I really hoped to use the iPhone wait time apps but I'm afraid how much that will set me back...
    Anyone else have some suggestions how to determine usage for these sites?? Ballpark anyways
     
  9. MikeyNS

    MikeyNS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    824
    http://www.telusmobility.com/en/NS/mobile_internet_guide/data_calculator.shtml that's the Telus data calculator. You'll notice that a Blackberry uses a lot less data than other devices.

    I think I mentioned this before, but if not here it is again..

    We used our Telus BB in Florida for 10 days. Added the $10 US data plan. Did the touringplans mobile site quite a bit to check reported wait times, uploaded a few pictures to FB, cruised FB from time to time.. did a few emails, etc.
    We used just under 9Mb of data. BB's are notoriously data efficient.

    We added the $10US data plan.. so grand total it cost us $19 for data.
    If we didn't add the plan it would have been $27. Not a huge difference.
    There are apps that you can get to track your data usage, that way you can keep track of everything.
    Hope that helps. :)
     
  10. KeroKero

    KeroKero DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,026
    We're leaving day after tomorrow and after debating and researching we decided to use my Telus BB while we're there. We added on the US Voice Travel Pack for $20, and the $10 US Data Travel Pack so that we can use bbm. They didn't mention anything about unlimited minutes (which would have been nice), all I was told is that it brings my per minute/roaming minutes down for voice and data. So instead of $1.45/min for voice I'll be paying .25 and for data $1MB instead of $3. So I'll be paying an additional $30 for the month, I think I'll come out well in the end.
     
  11. Tiger926

    Tiger926 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2000
    Messages:
    8,084
    Help with Data Roaming to US on Blackberry Bold

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Have spent tons of time on phone with Rogers over the past few months since getting our new Blackberries, and they just can't seem to answer my questions, so here goes:

    1. When roaming in US (visit Micigan 1-2x per month), phones switch to AT & T network. Can only receive BBMs -phones will not send BBMs out, unless we take out batteries and switch network service. My sis and brother in law have exact same phones, and they are on Telus, and no issues at all. Phones work as normal. Anyone else have this issue and know why it happens?

    2. Can't figure out what my regular data roaming rates are? I just used 2.4mbs US roaming, and have no idea what that is going to cost? I think regular rates are $6mbs, and the travel packs give big discounts, as mentioned above.

    Both hubby and I only use BBM while in US - no Internet and no apps in our phones at all to avoid heavy data roaming. Strictly BBM.

    If someone here could help, that would be great, as I've spoken to Rogers, as well as their Blackberry specialists (we have Bold 9780), and they are no help.

    Thanks so much, Tiger
     
  12. KNovacovschi

    KNovacovschi DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,984
    My daughter just got a new BB bold as well and we shop in the states on a regular business but am unsure how the roaming charges work with BBM. She is with Rogers as well and was just wondering if you have found the answers to your questions. I've been trying to find out but have had no luck. I personally have an iPhone and am with Bell so not sure how Rogers works.

    Thanks.
     
  13. Susan595

    Susan595 First time Disney planner

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Well I've been and back and I can tell you my phone was USELESS even if there was Wifi and I'm with Bell. Even my Undercover Tourist app line checker thing I purchased was useless to me, talk about ticked off ! I couldn't even use my phone at the Detroit airport, it just sucked lol. I called them before I left and they could have sold me a package the cheapest one was 30 bux, it was a limited amount of texts and I dont have a clue for data plan I'm guessing not that great because the guy didn't suggest doing it. So ya, phone be ok for taking pictures that's about it :( Soon as we were on the bridge poof it was gone.................I couldn't understand why when there was free wifi at my hotel why it wouldn't:confused: work even then, makes NO sense to me at all.
    Editing to add BBM's wouldn't even work it was a total useless tool for me to even take.
     
  14. Tiger926

    Tiger926 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2000
    Messages:
    8,084
    Sorry about that...

    We are in the US at least 2-3 times per month, and our phone is hit and miss unless we take out battery and restart the phone, and then it's fine.

    We have 2 Blackberry Bolds, and sometimes it works fine without doing the battery switch, so we always do a test BBM to make sure. We are with Rogers, and they aren't much help, as they are saying it's the US carrier - AT & T usually, and sometimes Verizon. But, like I said, if we do the battery thing, we are good to go!

    This only has to do with BBM as it uses data. Texts are through the phone system, and so we have no issues ever with texts.

    Hope this helps, Tiger
     
  15. eculmone

    eculmone Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    441
  16. BLBCB

    BLBCB DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    502
    First question - what are the risks of unlocking an iPhone? I think that is the right term, meaning I can use a different SIM card in it.

    Second question - how do you get a US sim card to use down there?
     
  17. Sillyminny40

    Sillyminny40 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,015
    Oh I just noticed this sticky after posting below! This is just too darn complicated for me. Maybe walkie talkies. I miss being fully covered all over North America. LOL!
     
  18. kelliott66

    kelliott66 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    This is what I have discovered and am trying this trip.........
    1) I am buying a pay as you go android phone in Walmart in the US.
    2) All US major carriers - AT&T, Virgin etc have unlimited talk/text/data for around $50.00 pay as you go, so I will buy a pay as you go card for that amount
    3) I will download the android markets free app for turning my android phone in to a wifi hotspot
    4) Voila: I will have unlimited talk/text and mobile browsing on my phone while at Disney....PLUS i will be able to use my laptop without paying the daily internet access rate at Bay Lake Towers (where I am staying), and it will allow up to 4 users at a time so my dear family can use it as well for their IPOD touches etc.

    for any techie out there.....does this make sense? I think it does, if I am wrong let me know.

    My reasoning is that I can get a pretty good deal with VIRGIN as I buy the phone for $100, I get a free minutes card worth $50, the apps from the app market are free that I need and not paying the $70.00 plus taxes it would cost for Internet access at the hotel, brings me to cost of about $30 for a week of unlimited talk/text to my family in disney as well as unlimited internet and I can use the line app on my nook colour, our IPODS etc. Much cheaper than purchasing walkie talkies.
     
  19. Tiger926

    Tiger926 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2000
    Messages:
    8,084
    Walkie talkies don't really work as too many people on the same frequencies.

    Disney has free wi-fi now at Deluxe, DVC and Coronado Springs Resorts.

    We had no issues with our wi-fi at Old Key West during this past trip.

    Tiger
     
  20. kelliott66

    kelliott66 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hi Tiger: Quick question about the free wifi: we are renting DVC points in March for BLT can you confirm if a non DVC member also gets free wifi?
     
  21. Tiger926

    Tiger926 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2000
    Messages:
    8,084
    Sorry, I should have said Deluxe and DVC Resorts (as well as Coronado Springs) have free wi-fi.

    Free wi-fi is not a DVC perk, so you will be fine!

    Enjoy, Tiger :)
     

Share This Page