Can't access favorite website

Discussion in 'Budget Board' started by onthego103, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. onthego103

    onthego103 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    166
    I posted this on the Comminity Board, but my post is no longer on the first page and I didn't get any responses. Since the website I am referring to is a coupon/bargain website, I will try posting this on the Budget Board as well!

    I am hoping someone here is more computer savvy than I am! For the past week or so, I have been unable to access one of my favorite websites. Initially, I got an error message indicating that the site couldn't be accessed. Now I just get a blank screen. I know there isn't a problem with the website because I can access it at work.
    I cleared my cache through Internet Explorer. Any other suggestions? I appreciate any help offered. Thanks, Nancy
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. BostonTink85

    BostonTink85 A Dream is a Wish your Heart Makes...

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    727
    I don't know if this might have something to do with it, but the security/privacy setting could be affecting it. If you go to 'Tools' then 'Internet Options' and check the Privacy settings. It may be set too high for whatever website you are trying to access. This is the only thing I can think of. I hope it works or that someone else has a better idea! Sending you some pixie dust... :wizard:
     
  4. Tinkerbell_Tiffany

    Tinkerbell_Tiffany DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    914
    try your pop-up blocker, I bet that's what it is...
     
  5. onthego103

    onthego103 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    166
    It doesn't seem to be the privacy settings or the pop-up blocker. Thanks for the suggestions, though.

    This is the error message I get:

    Action canceled
    Internet Explorer was unable to link to the Web page you requested. The page might be temporarily unavailable.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Anyone had this happen??
     
  6. HERSEY

    HERSEY DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,440
    I had that happen to me I had to clear my cookies. Before you do though remember if you have any site's that are auto sign in, you will need to re enter your passwords to the individual sites. Hope it helps
     
  7. onthego103

    onthego103 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    166
    I tried clearing my cookies. Now when I try accessing the site, I get all random characters - gobbledy gook! Anyone else?
     
  8. azgal81

    azgal81 <font color=blue>I am such a big fan of color<br><

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    6,297
    Is the site cominig up for others??? Maybe it no longer is there or they changed the url.
     
  9. BostonTink85

    BostonTink85 A Dream is a Wish your Heart Makes...

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    727
    what's the site?? I can try it from my computer if you want and see what it says to me...
     
  10. onthego103

    onthego103 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    166
    The site is coming up for others because I can access it from work. The first site it happened with is dealagogo.com, and it just started happening with dictionary.com today. Not good! I appreciate everyone's suggestions, though.
     
  11. Katy Belle

    Katy Belle DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,811
    I am NO expert...but I've had this happen to me on one of my favorite recipe sites. I typed it in on Google and was able to access it by clicking on their link. It doesn't really fix it, but maybe you can at least get to it at home that way.
    Good luck!
    Katy :sunny:
     
  12. safetymom

    safetymom Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    40,910
    Have you run a virus scan to make sure your computer isn't infected with one?
     

Share This Page