Cancel on my Disney experience

Discussion in 'Disney Restaurants' started by blingbowsparkles, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. blingbowsparkles

    blingbowsparkles Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Yesterday I went on to switch the dates and times of two of our reservations and now it won't let me cancel the original reservations. I keep getting a message stating that the reservation can't be canceled online. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. bumbershoot

    bumbershoot DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    48,949
    If for FP+ just ignore the old times. If for dining, call.
     
  4. Itinkso

    Itinkso Faith.Trust.Pixie Dust

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,518
    Yes, I've had the same experience when trying to cancel one ADR. I'm still a month out; I really don't like to wait on hold when it should just be a simple two-step process to cancel online.
     
  5. Masonmj84

    Masonmj84 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,298
    Ditto.

    It's frusturating, because when calling dining, getting through the automated system to talk to a live person is a maze (if you have a resort reservation, it's probably faster to get to dining through "resort reservation changes").

    It's doubly frustrating due to the cancellation policy (MDE is so gltichy that I worry that, even if I were able to cancel online, the cancellation wouldn't be officially recognized and I'd end up getting charged).
     
  6. starousse

    starousse DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,334
    Yes. I believe if you call up and have a CM make the reservations for you, you can't delete them on the website. You have to call back and have them delete it. All my other ressies that I did myself online, I had no problem switching up.
     
  7. Itinkso

    Itinkso Faith.Trust.Pixie Dust

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,518
    I did all of my ADRs online and canceled one on Sunday. Since Tuesday, MDE is not working for ADR cancelations and some have reported they can't change Fp+ either.

    Some think its because of all the parks going to Fp+ only by next week.
     
  8. RookieLady

    RookieLady Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    I think the system is glitchy. For my August trip, I made telephone reservations for dining, but while on the trip, I cancelled two online without problem.
     
  9. Fernandak

    Fernandak Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    I had to cancel by phone. It just took a few minutes by the resort reservation line
     
  10. blingbowsparkles

    blingbowsparkles Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    I figured it was a glitch because I was able to cancel on but not the others and whole process of making reservations yesterday was frustrating. The site was slow and it took multiple tries to complete the process for each new reservation.
     
  11. RAPstar

    RAPstar <font color=red>Proud Redhead<br><font color=darko

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,044
    Yea, it's a glitch. I kept trying to reschedule one of mine and tried cancel the old one, but it kept saying that. It still ended up being cancelled, and I got the emails, but the pop up kept saying it couldn't be cancelled online. Probably updating the system or something.
     
  12. Minnie824

    Minnie824 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Messages:
    6,066
    So they charge you if you don't cancel... and now you can't cancel online or in the app. Sounds like a good money making plan. I have one to cancel as well, and it's just so much easier to do the 2 sec of cancel I used to be able to do, instead of having to call. Hopefully this will be fixed soon.
     
  13. cjbcam

    cjbcam DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    586
    So has anyone been charged after they have canceled?
     
  14. ArthurKing1220

    ArthurKing1220 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Could you expand upon this a bit? I think your post describes a concern we've been having with our own FP+ planning for attractions. We changed a FP+ time on the website for one of our three picks and now, when we go in to see the "itinerary" for the day, the site lists both the old time and the new time (so we see four total attractions for the day under the itinerary tab). When I go into the actual FP+ option, we only see the three reservations for the day, i.e., the system seems to have accepted the time change without issue. Should we be concerned about this discrepancy on the itinerary view?
     
  15. bumbershoot

    bumbershoot DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    48,949
    No, just ignore the times you changed. People have called them ghosts. Thy don't mean anything. Their problem is that if you forget what you changed, it's confusing.
     

Share This Page