Cameras cameras and more cameras

Disneycrazedmomof2

Earning My Ears
Hello all! I am new to the DISboards and re-new to Disney. My last trip was in 1990. I was a teenager. Here's my question. I am taking my DH, and two DDs (7 & 3) to WDW in September. Which camera do I take. I have a DSLR that I absolutely love, but it's big. I also have a Kodak digital video camera that will also take some stills. (very small) My DH will want her small digital along and will likely let her DM (dear mother) borrow it. But the picture quality on my DSLR is sooo much nicer. I need seasoned veteran opinions please!

I would never dream of going without my DSLR camera. All I would think all trip is about the nice shots I could have gotten. I deal with the weight and bulk of it, and with my 18-200mm lens it's heavy! I have a Black Rapid RS-7 camera strap and I don't even know my camera is there, but when I need it, its right at my side and ready to be grabbed. When we go on a ride involving water, I throw it in a large zip lock that I keep in my back pack

I have a feeling I'd think just like you. "If only I had my camera!" I'll check out that strap. Thanks a bunch! We have one DD3 and one DD7, so I know we'll end up doing a lot of ride switching, etc. on any rides that I might not want it on. (Like big coasters) Thanks again!

Definitely take the DSLR. I imagine that since you own a camera like that, you must enjoy taking pictures right? If that's the case, you'll be kicking yourself for all the shots you could have gotten that the P&S just won't do justice. My DH and I trade off carrying ours and it is definitely worth it!

Enjoy your trip!

I have taken my DSLR and 2 lenses (17-75 & 75-300) for the pays 7 years or so. Wouldn't dream of not having it and it has been on every thing from rockn roller coaster to splash mountain.