Anyone else on laptop playing VMK?

Discussion in 'Virtual Magic Kingdom (VMK) Museum' started by GOOFYFREEK, Jun 25, 2005.

  1. GOOFYFREEK

    GOOFYFREEK DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,167
    Ok I am new to VMK just started this week. But the Pirates adventure and Fireworks I just cant seem to play. Guess its due to the laptop. Anyone have any advice for playing them on laptops?

    Also how long does it take to get your name registed? As I say its been a week and I still show up with guest #. :confused3
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. aengus

    aengus <font color=blue>Official Head VMK Cheerleader!</f

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,859
    I use a mouse on my laptop so the games are easier.
     
  4. magicmouse2

    magicmouse2 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,997
    Sorry have TOTR laptp. no probs.. its down to internet connection ::MickeyMo
     
  5. Momma Rabbit

    Momma Rabbit <font color=660099>May all your Birthdays be very

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Sometimes I'm forced to play VMK on my husbands laptop :guilty: it's slow and I can't play any games. I got the worst score ever at fireworks, so for Father's day I bought my hubby more RAM for his computer :rotfl: . I know I'm so selfish but if I gotta play on that laptop I need more RAM.
     
  6. Astryd

    Astryd <font color=dark pink>Even she thinks she is cute<

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    404

    LOL :rotfl:
     
  7. Major.Nelson

    Major.Nelson I reject reality and subsitute my own.

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Actually im playing on a lap top right now LOL but the game does seem to always crash on pirates and i never get on Fireworks fireworks are just a waist of gun powder! P.S. i would get on the regular computer but when ever it gets turned off it always needs some memory chips to be jiggled before its turned on again and yesterday the power went out FOR NO REASON and we were forced to turn off the computer in order not to waist power backup and the power just went out a couple of hours ago too but that was only for about 25 minutes. and so here i am complaining about my computers too :badpc: and all because i hit the computer with a hammer doesnt mean it should do that! just kidding
     
  8. Califgirl

    Califgirl <img src=http://photopost.wdwinfo.com/data/500/mt.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 1999
    Messages:
    2,966
    I play on a lap top too. I couldn't play any of the games until my DH finally took pity on me and bought me a mouse. Now he regrets it, but my game playing has improved dramatically. Still no fireworks pin and I can still manage to sink myself before I get out of port in Pirates, but all in all VMK is a lot more fun with a mouse. :)
    Of course this laptop really messes up my typing and I am always getting those red flashing words due to typos. Sorry if it takes me a long to to have a conversation, but now you know why. ;)
     
  9. VirtuallyMe

    VirtuallyMe <font color=darkorchid>I had a snail named, Ralph<

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,751
    I play on lap top too- but am terrible at games-

    The fireworks game really needs a mouse and it helps for the jungle cruise too

    Although I don't play pirates because it gets frustrating to play- lol- my husband will on lap top also and doesn't use the mouse but the touch pad.

    The other thing- is positioning- dh's fireworks scores improve if he is in more sturdy location (lap top not on lap but table top)

    And I have an infrared mouse that I like but dh hates it... so I guess it is "to each his/her own" there...

    Good luck- oh- and my old lap top- it was a waste to play any games- I've just had my new lap top a week or so- and it is wonderful in comparison- the amount of RAM really does make a difference- and also don't run a lot in the back ground if you can help it if you are short on RAM
     
  10. Arielfn93

    Arielfn93 <font color=darkpink>Loves the Pantaloonius Poopic

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    8,492
    I have a lab top, I cant play Fireworks at all, but Pirates game works fine.
     
  11. Adventuredaz

    Adventuredaz DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,231
    Yes I sometimes play from a laptop. I was forced to do so for a month while out of town on business and will have to again in a week. It ussually isn't as good as a desktop but I have learned to adapt my gaming to compensate for the speed difference. It just takes a few games to re-adjust. My Laptop happens to play better than the desktop at work so that helps. Two things are important The best possible connection and a mouse. If the equipment doesn't have a wire than it better have good batteries and be quality or you will have a lot of hesitation and jumping.
     
  12. aeryn

    aeryn <font color=33CC33>Sprinkled with TF pixie dust

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Messages:
    1,914
    I play pretty much exclusively on a laptop. I'm terrible at most of the games, tho' I'm getting better at the Blaster one. Most of them I have to "cross hands" in order to steer properly so that makes it a challenge. I have zero issues crashing boats and that's my main form of 'game playing' :)

    I think a mouse would probably help, but since I sit on the couch and play, there's no where for my mouse to go.
     
  13. Iris

    Iris Not-so-secretly wishing to own the Disney Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2000
    Messages:
    2,652
    I only play on my laptop since my home computer does not have the adequate processor speed to play the game.

    A lot will depend on the upgrades on your laptop. I have no trouble playing the game at all but I do use a mouse. I have an very fast processor speed for the laptop plus all the newest gaming cards. I think this helps. I am on a DSL at work and on cable at home and see no difference between the two when playing VMK.

    There are advantages to using a laptop~like when I was waiting in line behind 703 ppl for the spin game, I was sitting and watching TV with the laptop with me. At least my time was occupied. LOL
     
  14. surferrat

    surferrat <font color=blue>SURF? And get my wings wet? Dream

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    808
    I play on a laptop also and everthing works great!...
     
  15. shirt

    shirt Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    i have both my lap tops set up side by side so i can be on my main and a mule at the same time. usually i am just chilling with my main, and nedding with my mule. all is well with the games on both lap tops. but i have never tried it on a reg pc. no problems here tho.
     
  16. redbaybound

    redbaybound It's all about the fun!

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    345
    I play on a laptop. After months of trying to win fireworks I was told by CherryGodmother to by a mouse that was NOT wireless and try playing witht that. It still took me another month to win but I finally did it. I have always stunk at pirates so not even the mouse helped me there :rotfl:
     
  17. MickeysBuddy

    MickeysBuddy MickeysBigFan on VMK

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Same here.
    I have a USB Wireless Mouse. It works awesome on the arm of the sofa for pirates and such. Although if I am really trying to win in foreworks the desktop works best. I have to turn my keyboard for optimum finger placement over the arrow keys.
     
  18. Pixiebell

    Pixiebell Baaad Minkie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    150
    Exact same thing, redbaybound.
    Have desktop and laptop, both with wireless mouse. Stunk at fireworks on both. DH bought a wire mouse for the laptop, and I am having a bad day if I get less than 240k on fireworks now (now just have to buy more RAM!)
     

Share This Page