Anyone a Freelance writer? Help please!

ShelsGoingToDisney

DIS Veteran
I have been contacted by a publishing company to write a teaching unit to accompany a chapter book series that they publish. I am a former teacher and I have an online business selling teaching units that I have written for popular chapter books. They want me to write something that will be downloaded for free to teachers so there would be no royalty dues owed to me. What they will do is give me a set fee for the work. They want to know my rates. I have never been hired in this way before and I have NO idea where to begin to figure out a fair rate. I estimate the project to take about 35 hours. It wouldn't be a paid by the word type thing. Anybody have any idea what a fair rate would be? I do have a Master's Degree, teaching experience and I have had my business for over 7 years so I do have some experience.

Also the come would retain the copyright when they pay me so I am beign paid for the work and the rights I guess if that makes a difference in price.

Any advice would be appreciated! :confused3

Prices paid for freelance writing vary from dismal to impressive. I would look at this as techical writing, which would bump up the fee some. I'd probably look at least $50 an hour. Don't forget that you will owe self-employment tax and are being paid absolutely no benefits.

I don't know the answer to your question but was wondering if you can PM me if you have a site of your materials?

My husband does freelance content development, marketing communications and technical writing. Depending on the project he charges any where from $35 -- $60 per hour. Straight newsletter work where he is editing content and rewriting goes for $35. Tech writing where he has to do research and develop the content is priced much higher -- $55 -- $60 per hour.

Since you will be researching and developing the content, I would say that your work would be priced on the high side.

Hope this helps!