Anybody here won at skyauction.com???

Discussion in 'Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board' started by mbb, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. mbb

    mbb <font color=green>Wishin' & Clappin' & always Beli

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,950
    or used priceline for hotels?

    Curious if anyone has any experiences...good, bad, or ugly...??

    TIA!!

    :sunny:
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. FayeW

    FayeW DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,231
    I won a Ready,Set, Go! auction with skyauction last June. Originally we planned to travel in March, but I kept checking availability and nothing was coming up for our dates. We switched our trip to December instead and had lots to choose from. We chose Cypress Point Grande Villas, and absolutely loved it. I wouldn't hesitate to use skyauction again, it was painless, and they were very easy to deal with via email once we booked our accomodation. We paid about $350 cdn (including bid price, service charge and admin fee) for 7 nights in a luxury 2 bdrm. Absolutely cannot beat the price, and did not require a timeshare tour (although we took one to save money on our Disney tickets).
     
  4. alohamom

    alohamom DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    Hi there, if you search this forum you will see a post I did a few weeks back about Priceline. I like to use them and have never had a problem, but you have to be fairly flexible. The first time we usedit, we got terriific rooms in Hawaii at the Hyatt Maui for a very cheap price. We have since used it in Florida and got the DTD Hilton for $60.00 US/night(plus taxes and small resort fee of about $8). You need an American Express card to use it and I highly recommend reading up about current winning bids, strategy etc on www.biddingfortravel.com. My Dad uses Priceline alot but he says just lately he has been getting the worst rooms in the hotel(bad or no view, noisy locations, etc). He has been using them for Asia primarily though, so who knows...Anyway, it is fun if your willing to gamble a bit on what you get.
     
  5. hockey mom

    hockey mom <font color=coral>Loves to do the Napkin Dance at

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,806
    I have used both. I won a ready, set, go auction for Silver lake and Orange lake- both are 2 bedroom units. The last few years I have also used priceline. Stayed at Marriot Orlando World Centre, Hyatt, and another one I can't remember.
     
  6. Timon

    Timon DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    8,128
    We have used Priceline many many times and were never disappointed. I will be using this again in the future!!!

    We also won the skyauction for Orange Lake Resort. My sister won another one for her second week there and her second week was so much better than the first. Our first week we stayed in an older 2 bedroom and didn't like it at all!!! The whole place was stinky and old and stained. Her second week, she stayed in a newer 2 bdrm and loved it! What a difference!
     
  7. mbb

    mbb <font color=green>Wishin' & Clappin' & always Beli

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,950
    and thank you for the link to bidding for travel, alohamom:)

    Lots of reading to do! Sheryl certainly has EVERYTHING laid out very well!!:)

    Timon...did your sister just asked to be moved to another unit? Or did she request a newer unit in her bid??? I have read about others "stuck" in an older unit, with the same issues as you sister had...?

    Did any of you use a VISA? Or did you have to use an AMEX?

    Thanks all!!
    :sunny:
     
  8. Timon

    Timon DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    8,128
    mbb,

    My sister and I bid on two different auctions and that's just where they put us. I have heard before on these boards that the villa you are assigned to is already determined based on the person whose auction you won. Not sure how accurate that is but it makes sense!

    I believe we used visa for the skyauction and our MC for priceline.
     
  9. MaMudduck

    MaMudduck <font color=teal>Disney <font color=deeppink>Princ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,040
    I've used skyauction too & I'd use them again for sure.

    The only mistake I made with them was the "per night" thing when they add the extra $32.00 per night tax, it was still a good deal but not a "great" deal anymore.

    So in the future I would book it as packages or with the Ready, Set, Bid auctions.
     
  10. garytam

    garytam Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Messages:
    183
    What do you put in for address for priceline, it only shown US states, no province.

    Thanks
     
  11. hockey mom

    hockey mom <font color=coral>Loves to do the Napkin Dance at

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,806
    I put in my home adress in the right spot then for a state California(ca), and my zip is 11111. You are just going to print off the confirmation anyway so no adress is needed.
     
  12. alohamom

    alohamom DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    918
    That is what I do too. There is actually a drop down for state so I always pick CA (abbr for california) and then use 90210 as my "zip". The first time I did that I was laughing to myself and a little nervous, but if you look at www.biddingfortravel.com in the FAQs for non U.S. residents you will see they suggest doing this. So far, so good for me, I have never encountered any problems and I linked my amex card with airmiles here in Canada so I get a few points along with the deal! I was actually suprised last Dec how familiar the Hilton staff were with how a Priceline reservation works, they must get a lot. I have never been spoken down to or treated like I was inferior at check in either. Good luck, you can really get great deals this way.:wave2:
     
  13. CanadaPT

    CanadaPT Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    I've also used priceline and used Mastercard. I just use California as the State and 99999 as the Zip Code.
     

Share This Page