AKL / Sprint 3g/4g service

Discussion in 'Disney Resorts' started by solpo, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. solpo

    solpo Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    I'm going to be checking in @ AKL in 20 days and will need some internet access. Is the Sprint signal good there? I can turn on mobile hotspot on my wife's Evo for the month for 30 bucks and save a lot of money compared to $10/day for wired in-room access. 3G is fine, although 4G is better.

    Any tips?

    Thanks, all.
     
  2. Avatar

    DIS Sponsor The Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin is located in the heart of the Walt Disney World Reosrt.

    to hide this advert.
  3. gerows

    gerows Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    With the EVO you should have the capabilities to tether your computer to your phone which will gve you the same results as using the hot spot but you will be connected with a wire to the phone rather wirelessly. This may be a feature of the phone that does not need to be activated and paid for like the hotspot but even if it is it should be about 1/2 the cost
     
  4. TheTurners

    TheTurners Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    I am taking my EVO and I checked Sprint.com, there is 3G signal but no 4G anywhere close. And I agree with the pp, you can connect via USB and tether for free. I was worried about the battery lasting while taking pictures and using Facebook, ridehopper, etc during the long days in the park. I just bought an external battery charger on Amazon for $49 that can charge the phone anywhere 3 to 4 times on a single charge. If you don't have one already that may interest you. I love the EVO, just wish it had 50% more battery life because I use it for everything. This external battery will hopefully solve that problem. Have fun!
     
  5. NatashaDisneyCM

    NatashaDisneyCM DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,719
    well I get full bars everywhere I go with my iphone 4. and I was at the AKL this week, and I have to say even with my aircard I got really bad and dropped service!! but the minute I moved to WL, it was full bars again!! now this was 4g...
     
  6. CoolDisneyCat

    CoolDisneyCat DVC member - BCV

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,599
    interesting ... since AT&T doesn't have 4G yet ..:confused3

    anyway.. to the OP..

    if you do add the hot spot to the phone, it would not be the full $30. Just add it the night before you leave and take it off the day you come back. You would only be charged for the partial month.
     
  7. Burnt Toast

    Burnt Toast DLR -> WDW Cast Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    489
    iPhone 4 doesn't mean that it can use 4G service. It's the fourth generation of the iPhone. Sigh.

    4G service is different... and AT&T does not have a 4G network yet and their version of 4G (LTE) won't be launched until probably late next year. Currently only Sprint has a working 4G network and it's available (in test phase) in Downtown Orlando. 4G has not been fully launched yet in Orlando and it is currently slated to be launched by the end of the year.
     
  8. nurse.darcy

    nurse.darcy DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,815
    To the I-Phone user: My friend and I were at AKL in August of 2009. I have Verizon and had full signal the entire trip. She is with AT&T and could never get a signal. Just an FYI
     
  9. nurse.darcy

    nurse.darcy DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,815
    Okay, so I have a techie question. I am on Verizon. I have the 2nd generation HTC for Android with unlimited everything. Can I do this "tethering" thing as well? Or is this something only offered through Sprint? And if so, how is it done.
     
  10. gerows

    gerows Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Tethering is typically a device specific feature not necessarily limited to the carrier, although only certain carriers allow simultaneous voice and data (meaning if you don't have this capabilities your Internet connection will be shut down when you receive an incoming call).
    As far as how to do it you should check the phone's manual I'm not sure on that model although it's new enough that you should have the capabilities. Typically you would plug something into your phone (most likely the port you plug into in order to charge the phone) with a USB connection to your computer. I'm not sure how different carriers handle this from a pricing perspective, but some may charge you for this as you would most likely transmit much more data while using a laptop vs surfing the web on your phone. I would suggest you stop into your local store/mall kiosk and have them help you with it
     
  11. nurse.darcy

    nurse.darcy DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,815
    Thank you. Turned out to be VERY helpful
     

Share This Page