2-way radios?

Discussion in 'Disney Cruise Line Forum' started by Ancaster, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. Ancaster

    Ancaster Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    117
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. erionm

    erionm DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    14,721
    DCL has cordless phones on all the ships that also work on Castaway Cay.

    Wave Phone Details
     
  4. kcashner

    kcashner DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    33,285
    Many years ago (before wave phones), I tried some pretty high end walkie talkies on the ship. Not good. Lots of static, picking up other people despite availability of multiple channels, missing our own transmissions.

    Many people have told me it was because of the amount of metal in the ship...I don't know if that's true or not.
     
  5. wiigirl

    wiigirl DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    15,980
    I have tried to use those and they did not work well. To much interference in a huge steel ship to be useful really.
     
  6. mawhite424

    mawhite424 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    We brought ours on the Magic in December and they worked GREAT! I think it depends on the quality. Ours are Uniden brand - my dh has them for his model rocket competitions so they have to have a long range. We never used the wave phones because I couldn't figure out how to use them :confused3 .
     
  7. pluto1974

    pluto1974 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    I have Motorola talkies - bought at Costco Canada but not the same as the ones in your link. They work well outside and in the mall but the range isn't nearly as good as advertised (i don't think any of them are). Never tried them in a cruise ship before.

    each stateroon has a wave phone while is awesome keeping in touch/track and work all over the ship. You just need to know the room number. The counselors will also use the wave phones if your child(ren) are in the oceaneers club/lab and need you.
     
  8. Ancaster

    Ancaster Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    I see some conflicting answers.

    I think I'll buy them anyway. My old Cobras use proprietary batteries and they cost as much as new radios to replace, range is not as good as well. I tend to stay away from proprietary electronics now.

    We'll use them at resorts, amusement parks, camping, etc anyway.

    Thanks everyone!
     
  9. Ancaster

    Ancaster Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    The Wave phones are a good idea but there may be times when I don't want to worry and be able to throw around 2way radios I don't mind to lose, land or sea. I'll label them with our name and Stateroom.
     
  10. jlapointe30

    jlapointe30 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Look at the documentation that comes with these. Although they require no license to operate in Canada, they require one in the USA.
     
  11. Ancaster

    Ancaster Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    You wouldn't know the limiting specs?

    Just wondering who would enforce that? The luggage scanners?

    Is that new? I've never had agents ask about 2-way radios we've had on us during vacation.
     
  12. jlapointe30

    jlapointe30 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    No agent will prevent you from entering the US with them as it is totally legal to own one. They even sell them in store there without proof of license. But to operate at power level of above 1/2 of a watt (FRS) you need a license. In theory you could be fined for using them without a license. The license is not expensive, but you need to provide a mailing address in the US. I got mine a couple years ago, back then, I believe it was 70$ for 5 years

    It was proposed in 2010 to remove the license requirement as the rules are difficult to enforce when you can by them at your local walmart. This change is still pending.

    http://www.fcc.gov/encyclopedia/general-mobile-radio-service-gmrs

    I don't think they are actively enforcing the rule in the USA.

    Also, be aware that the rules changes from country to country and some of them might enforce them more actively then US and Canada. I would double check before using them in a different country.
     
  13. bats

    bats Enjoying Bahama Mama's

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,425
    Some not allowed in the UK as far as I'm aware (not sure why though)!! Here's some stuff about it:
    In the UK there are 2 main types of radio; licensed and unlicensed. Basically the frequencies are split by the government to a range which requires permission to use (licensed) and a much smaller range which does not (unlicensed).

    IIRC the radios using the unlicensed range are typically referred to as PMR. These can be bought over the counter at Argos, Maplin and the like. The range and quality of the signal vary from product. As usual the more you pay the better the quality.


    I would just use the Wave phones ... that's what they're designed for. They work perfectly and they're easy to use .... room number plus 1 or 2, depending on which phone you have. If you have '1', the other one is '2' .. simples!:)

    Not sure why the op would want to 'throw around' the radios or phones though :confused3
     
  14. Ancaster

    Ancaster Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Sorry, I didn't elaborate.
    If 2 wave phones are not in your room when you leave, DCL charges you $250.
    If I lose one radio, no big deal, I can buy more and they are compatible. If we lose both of them, it's still only $45.

    When we are in port, on a beach and my older daughter and I go exploring, I'm not sure it's a good idea carrying a wave phone, do they work as 2-way radios? Anyway, my wife can contact us easily with the radios and if they drop anywhere, they're durable enough to survive.

    Or if my wife and I decide to separate while shopping (dangerous, lol).

    It's also mainly for short distance communication when we have no cell coverage... like the examples I mentioned... camping, caribbean resorts, so we will keep using them.
    Great for when we cross into the U.S. as our cell provider has horrendous roaming charges.
    However, in hotels with free wifi, I use a travel router pre-configured for VPN to bypass any VoIP restrictions.

    The main thing is that they use non-proprietary batteries, should last a few years, replace with standard rechargeables as needed.

    :goodvibes
     
  15. erionm

    erionm DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    14,721
    The Wave phones are basically cordless phones and will only work on the ship and on Castaway Cay. They will not work off the ship in any other port.
     
  16. Ancaster

    Ancaster Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Ok, so it's not redundant that I want to bring 2-ways and use them through our travels and off the ship, whether they work well on it or not.
    Thx
     
  17. PrincessShmoo

    PrincessShmoo DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    23,121
    I've read that in some ports certain frequencies are illegal for private parties to use.
     
  18. Ancaster

    Ancaster Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Are you saying we should wear the earpiece and go Bond?

    Reminds me of this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yR0lWICH3rY
     
  19. cleophus12

    cleophus12 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,215
    Do the wave phones make any kind of sound like the beeping noise that some 2ways use?
     
  20. erionm

    erionm DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    14,721
    The Wave phones are set to vibrate only and can't be changed.
     
  21. cleophus12

    cleophus12 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,215
    Wonderful. That beeping gets old really fast. Maybe that's why they installed them.
     

Share This Page