Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Disney Restaurants
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-24-2005, 02:22 PM   #1
ehagerty
DIS Veteran

MYW Dining Plan - Thoughts & Questions

I've been reading other threads and the official Disney documentation on this topic. I've been using the vouchers for the last 4 years (to great benefit, even with Connections high fees). I have a collection of thoughts and questions - any one of which could be spun off into its own thread. Still creativity theory suggest that (a) the best way to have a good idea is to have lots of ideas and (b) the best idea is usually somewhere between idea #40 and idea #60. I also look forward to hearing from real life practical experience with this plan.

Context: Evaluate the MYW Dining Plan as standalone feature - that is, can I get my money's worth independent of room/ticket prices built into the package?

First - establish approximate "value" to the meal plan components to use as a baseline. My estimates would have been:
Snack = $2.50
Counter = $9.00
Meal = $23.50
Total = $35.00

However, I elected to simplify:
Snack = $2
Counter = $9
Meal = $24

Using these numbers, you can then sign on to the allearsnet.com menus and begin to see whether there are enough suppliers (restaurants) available in the context of your touring / park plan to consume your meal options to these minimal dollar levels.

Initially, I was preparing to give an unequivocal "YES" to this question, until I took a closer look at some of the limitations:

Snack - I don't foresee any problem with finding snacks to use the options.