The Internet's Largest and Friendliest Disney Community WDWinfo.com | DISboards.com | Dreams Unlimited Travel
Disney discussion forums

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Disney Collectors Board
Register Chat Reviews News BLOG DISer PhotosFAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
DIS Home Theme Parks Resorts Dining Photos Planning Tickets Events Transportation Discounts



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2003, 01:21 AM   #1
RamVA
DIS Veteran
 
RamVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 550

Exclamation VIRUS ALERT--Please Read

Dear Friends,

Last night I received a forward in my e-mail from a pin trading connection. Normally, I only open forwards from my known friends, and usually automatically delete mail from any address that does not look familiar. For some reason, I decided to open this one, since it was an address I recognized from a recent trade, (even though this person and I did not really have any conversation other than what was needed for the trade) and as the attachment was down-loading, the anti-virus program picked up a virus, and interrupted the down-load, and I deleted the mail. I then got a couple of more after that. Today, I have been inundated with them--at least 2 dozen, all with some kind of notice about friendship, or "friendly screen-saver", and a few other odd notes in the "subject" area. I realized today, that I don't think the forward is actually coming from this trader (which is why I haven't mentioned the trader's name), but someone who has created an email account using this person's name. I'm not too computer savvy (as some of you know) but I assume this is easy to do. The reason I don't think it's from this person is that the "address part"--the @ part--is missing, indicating an AOL account user, since we have AOL, and the trading connection had a different server than AOL.

So, I don't know if someone has targeted me specifically, or if it's pin traders, or disney-site people, or what, but want everyone to be on alert if they receive mail from a previous trading connection that is not trade related, that you don't really know, and strikes you as a little odd.

Also, if anyone else has had something like this happen, please let me know, either in this post, or a PM.
__________________

Ruthie-DVC '92
"Slightly Bigger Fish"
RamVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 07:36 AM   #2
LynniethePooh
Her ECV has a propensity to aim at guys named Ed
 
LynniethePooh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: 1013 Miles south of Philadelphia PA!!!
Posts: 1,234

you are not alone!

I, too, received something similar yesterday. In fact, I received several.

One had PART of the an email I recognized as a fellow trader. have not emailed with her in a long time, but I believe she is not on AOL, but this came through as an AOL email. Another was from a 'comcast.net' mailing address. My program is set up not to download files automatically unless I click a tab in my mail. I did not DL these files. For your info, the various subject lines were:

Fw:Joke Love to watch!
Fw:Free Screensaver!!
Fw:Interesting love to watch!!
Fw: Dear Santa

the body of these emails all talked about free screensavers. It was made to appear like a 'friend' has just forwarded me something.
__________________
Lynnie

Have a Hunny of a Day!
LynniethePooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
DIS ad
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000+
Old 01-27-2003, 10:10 AM   #3
Dom13
Pin Pics Graphics Dept.
 
Dom13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central CT, USA
Posts: 2,039

Send a message via AIM to Dom13
Pin Pics got a ton of these also. Be VERY careful of attachments. If you have any doubt contact the person it is coming from and ask if they sent you something and what it is.
__________________
Dom13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 11:57 AM   #4
mousefan
DIS Veteran
 
mousefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Pgh, Pa
Posts: 958

Send a message via Yahoo to mousefan
virus alert

I too have been getting quite a few of these strange emails....and luckily haven't been opening them or downloading anything , and again it seems to have started from a person I traded with via pinpics...so I went into pinpics today and opted not to use the trade asst. for a while to see if that makes a difference.

update; Yes mine were from France also.....getting them every hour or so ( multiples) ,and only on my email that I use for pinpics none of my other emails have gotten any but since I posted here earlier that I disabled trade asst. have not gotten one...( had four this am between 9am-10am) keeping fingers crossed..
__________________
Remembering Tinkerbell2300 and Sparkle Zoe , who left this earth to sprinkle their pixie dust thru the heavens. We miss you Steph.6/30/00..and Bev 10/28/03

Last edited by mousefan; 01-27-2003 at 03:54 PM.
mousefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 01:40 PM   #5
Luv2Roam
Dexter: Takes Life. Seriously.
 
Luv2Roam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 14,683

We had LOTs of them too yesterday. Luckily Norton was stopping them. Many came from France.
__________________

To the Dis-family: A Non-offensive Chad Vader Holiday Greeting Card
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-0wNvf25hI
Luv2Roam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 06:35 PM   #6
Chip and Dale
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 244

Us.too

We had a lot of the strange e-mails containing the virus and they, too, seemed to originate from France. (Not that we recognized the e-mail address of anyone in France, but there they were!) Nasty little thing--thank goodness for Norton.
Chip and Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 12:47 AM   #7
cathy1140
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 477

I got them on Thur

I also got the e-mail from a name that I reconized.. but didn't open the attachment Norton detected something.. I quickly deleted them.. this happen to us last year and the computer went down.. by the virus it took my DH 4 days to get the computer going again... and the computer hasn't been the same..

so be very careful... don't open


Cathy
__________________
Our first visit to Disney was 1976
All Star Sports July 1997
Disney Vacation Club May 2001
Marriott Imperial Palms May 2002
Star Spangle Event June 2002
All Star Music September Pin Event 2002
Marriott Grande Vista Spectacle of Pins December 2002
Coronado Springs Resort July 2003
September EVent 2003
This is Love Event 2004 Coronado Springs
All sports Resort Feb 2004
cathy1140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 09:04 AM   #8
RamVA
DIS Veteran
 
RamVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 550

Thanks for the info......

Appreciate the replies everyone. Only had a few more come in yesterday. And, computer seems to be ok, so I guess Norton did it's job--whew! Be lost without my computer fix at night!

Still don't quite understand how do "they" get the address of someone you recognize????
__________________

Ruthie-DVC '92
"Slightly Bigger Fish"
RamVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 09:57 AM   #9
Dom13
Pin Pics Graphics Dept.
 
Dom13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central CT, USA
Posts: 2,039

Send a message via AIM to Dom13
Ruthie this is what is called a worm virus. It infects a computer and sends out a copy of itself to every address in a person's address book and tris to infect each of those computers. It then starts the process all over again. Some of the nastier ones even pull addresses from your in box. It can spread very rapidly as it goes from computer to computer to computer...

Other than tying up bandwith and slowing things to a crawl this type of virus does not usually cause any other damage to an average users computer.

The best defense is to have virus protection and make sure it is up to date. To save all the time (days) necessary to straighten things out it is a small price to pay.
__________________
Dom13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2003, 01:18 PM   #10
RamVA
DIS Veteran
 
RamVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 550

Smile

Thank you Dom, I think I understand now!
__________________

Ruthie-DVC '92
"Slightly Bigger Fish"
RamVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpodcastdisney music
SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2009, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.