Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > The DIS Unplugged Podcast
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-27-2013, 10:11 PM   #1
doconeill

Fastpass Jedi Master

TravelTech - more details on RFID

RFID was a hot topic on the chat during the live podcast...I've dealt with the technology quite a bit and have been studying how the MagicBands will appear to work...and since I'm a tech nutcase...and for the benefit of those who didn't watch/listen:

There are two basic types of RFID - active and passive. Passive is the more common one, and the one described by Mike. Active actually involves a battery powered transmitter in the tag - a lot of toll systems use an active transmitter that needs to be replaced every couple years because of the battery. SunPass somewhat recently introduced a passive tag system to eliminate the need for replacement - plus the passive tags are a fraction of the cost.

I'll skip further discussion of active RFID for now, but I will mention it once more.