Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > W.I.S.H
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-12-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
soozaay
2 excited 2 sleep

Recommendations for 10K training apps?

I'm a beginner runner and am just about to finish the Couch-2-5K program app. There's SO many running training apps out there, I'd like to hear your recommendations for 10K or 13.1 miles training apps.

I'm going to be doing the Princess Half in 2014, so, eventually I will be training for that, that's why I'm including it above.

I'm thinking of doing the Jeff Galloway program too...just don't know where to go from here, and I like having a prompt to walk/jog in my ear while I listen to music to motivate me, I don't have confidence in myself yet to run the right amount to better my distance. (if that makes any sense)

Thanks!

soozaay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:12 AM   #2
keahgirl8
DIS Veteran

I just finished the Jeff Galloway 5K app and I am planning to do the 10K one next. I really liked it! He gives you the prompts and also tips an motivation. Your music can be synced by beats per minute depending on how fast you're going.
keahgirl8 is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Old 03-14-2013, 04:10 PM   #3
indygirl99
DIS Veteran

I started run/walk/run last june.

I did not have a smart phone at the time so I just had the ipod for my music. I used a timer called the Gymboss that you can set for your intervals that beeps, beeps and vibrates or just vibrates. You can find the timer on amazon dot com. I just clipped it on my waistband and away I went.