Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Disney Resorts
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
mndisneylovinmom
Earning My Ears
 
mndisneylovinmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 62

Wifi

Is wifi available AND free at all parks? And resorts?
We've been to Disney, but didn't have smart phones so I never paid much attention to that.
Now, We all have iPhones and several Disney world apps, which will be awesome to utilize those apps and information while there next fall....
mndisneylovinmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 04:00 PM   #2
J&J
DIS Veteran
 
J&J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,443

Wifi

Wifi is in most DIsney hotels they are getting all hotels on line. Parks are suppose to be. Also have an iPhone always use it in the parks usually never changed the iPhone to their wifi since I have the Internet.
__________________
Jim Jean Disney Lovers
J&J is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 03-10-2013, 04:09 PM   #3
2Tiggies
I am subscribing to this thread just so I can see your shirt
I like those water proof containers that hang around my neck on a lanyard
 
2Tiggies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Too many stripes away from Tigger
Posts: 18,736

Reports are that the wifi has been slowly improving. We were there in September last year. At the time all resorts had wifi and MK and Epcot did.

Wifi was hit and miss to say the least. There were black spots in the resort where I had no wifi signal and likewise in the parks. I blamed my BlackBerry because I would have preferred an iPhone I have heard on here from guests who have been more recently and were there late last year that it is better than it was at the time so it seems to be a work in progress, but I was able to use it even in the early stages of the roll-out, albeit a bit iffy in times and places
__________________
October 2010 Trip Report



And a sneaky add-on at Bay Lake Tower
2Tiggies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 04:56 PM   #4
figment_jii
DIS Veteran
 
figment_jii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8,771

There is WiFi in the parks, but it seemed pretty slow to me. It wasn't very strong in any of the buildings. I had better luck at the resorts.
figment_jii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 05:02 PM   #5
Polydweller
DIS Veteran
 
Polydweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,430

It's in all resorts, theme parks and DTD. We had no problem the week we were there but it is a shared resource with hundreds to thousands trying to use it concurrently. As such, it will be slower than your home network or free wifi in places like Starbucks where there few concurrent users. Just the nature of wifi that at half rated capacity it starts to slow.

However, for using My Disney Experience in the parks it was fine and most everything worked quite well at the Poly.
__________________
21 years staying at the Polynesian!
Next Trip: Oct 2013 Polynesian
Polydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 06:11 PM   #6
mudfish
Earning My Ears
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10

I had a problem with my phone and had to rely on my son's iPod as my only form of communication (google voice and Text+)... I was able to get service in and near most larger buildings and throughout most of CBR... I was pleasantly surprised at how widespread the wifi network was spread out...
mudfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:13 PM   #7
DebbieB
DVC Member BWV 99
You have to compare apples to apples
 
DebbieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: PA
Posts: 45,396

I was there last week and it worked well at BLT and at all the parks. I have an I-Phone and wifi worked most of the time rather than using 3G.
__________________
DebbieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:20 PM   #8
nhmommy
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 254

Is it free in the resorts now? When we were last at the AKL there was a charge for wifi.
nhmommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:43 PM   #9
DebbieB
DVC Member BWV 99
You have to compare apples to apples
 
DebbieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: PA
Posts: 45,396

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhmommy View Post
Is it free in the resorts now? When we were last at the AKL there was a charge for wifi.
Yes, it's free. Wired internet used to have a charge, it's been disconnected.
__________________
DebbieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:00 PM   #10
nhmommy
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 254

Quote:
Originally Posted by DebbieB View Post
Yes, it's free. Wired internet used to have a charge, it's been disconnected.
Great thanks for the info
nhmommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.