Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Photography Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-18-2013, 11:00 AM   #1
alayne
DIS Veteran

SLR (EOS) Camera Questions

I have always used a Canon SLR Camera and loved them. I have had a few different ones but most recently I picked my last one based on weight. I have two kids (4 with me all the time because I keep my nieces) with the youngest being 9 months.

I have now dropped my camera twice and the last time was the end. I am going to have to have a new one.

Can someone give me some suggestions?

I'm not a professional by no means. I just like taking good pictures of the kids. I have a lot to carry as it is so I want something light and as compact as possible. I have a lot of extra lens and flashes but I don't use them because of the time it takes and with kids I don't have that kind of time. I'm looking for something simple and easy to use that I can grab easy when the kids do something cute or take with us to Disney.

Thanks
Allison
Old 02-18-2013, 11:37 AM   #2
havoc315
DIS Veteran

I'd stick with what you know. The newest iteration is the 4ti.
havoc315 is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Old 02-18-2013, 12:01 PM   #3
boBQuincy
I am not carrying three pods
There's something about the smell of the chemicals that just shouts "Photography!"

If you are looking for "lighter" then another Canon dSLR is not going to be any better. Assuming you want the capabilities of a dSLR then it is time to look at micro 4/3 or NEX. NEX has a larger sensor (thus better potential image quality) but that also means larger and heavier lenses. Micro 4/3 has a smaller sensor than a typical dSLR but still large enough to deliver excellent image quality. So many choices...