Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Photography Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-12-2013, 10:49 PM   #1
katpalen
Earning My Ears

Nikon D5100 or Canon T3???

Quick question. I have an old Nikon D40-wanting to get something a little "newer" before our cruise next week. Found a really good deal on the Canon online, but already have the Nikon lenses. Can get a Nikon body for about $100 more than the Canon with the kit lens. I am a casual photographer- just take kid and vacation pics. Would you go with the Canon kit or the more expensive Nikon body? Thanks for any help!
Old 02-12-2013, 11:47 PM   #2
SplashMo
DIS Veteran

The Nikon D5100 at $550 with kit lens or $450 body only is a very good deal.
The DIS
Register to remove

Old 02-13-2013, 06:49 AM   #3
hakepb
DIS Veteran

I think the T3 is the most basic DSLr in Canon's lineup, the equivalent of the D3100. Now a T3i may be closer to a D5100, but I don't think its sensor can quite match the D7000 sensor that is in the D5100 at high ISO.
Old 02-13-2013, 07:53 AM   #4
havoc315
DIS Veteran

As stated, the Nikon may be the better camera. But even putting that aside, you need to factor lenses into the price. If you're already invested in lenses, then changing systems usually doesn't make sense.
havoc315 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:20 AM   #5
hakepb
DIS Veteran

While the smapsort comparisons are useless in making a final determination about cameras, they are interesting and may bring up a spec that is more important to you:
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-T3-vs-Nikon-D5100
Old 02-13-2013, 08:27 AM   #6
wiigirl
DIS Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by havoc315 View Post