Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Theme Parks Attractions and Strategies
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2013, 04:33 PM   #1
melissarose
Mouseketeer
 
melissarose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 490

Wifi in parks

As the trip gets closer I have more and more questions!!!

I am wondering what the wifi in the parks is like. I have the Disney Experience app and I want to use the wait times and other features. However, I am from Canada and it will obviously cost me an arm and a leg to use this app if I am using data. Will I be able to get any decent wifi reception, or should I just resolve to not even bother with this app?
melissarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 04:35 PM   #2
Robo
Attention: There's a '71 Castle in the Hub with its lights on!
 
Robo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: In the Magic Mirror, I'm closer than I appear.
Posts: 76,493

Quote:
Originally Posted by melissarose View Post
As the trip gets closer I have more and more questions!!!

I am wondering what the wifi in the parks is like. I have the Disney Experience app and I want to use the wait times and other features. However, I am from Canada and it will obviously cost me an arm and a leg to use this app if I am using data. Will I be able to get any decent wifi reception, or should I just resolve to not even bother with this app?
Slow and glitchy for some.

THIS current thread addresses these issues.
__________________
.


.
Robo is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 01-14-2013, 05:33 PM   #3
mountdew1
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,766

Should work fine for light use. It's really meant for people just like you, so thats who may have the best luck with it. Trying to live stream your trip on YouTube or uploading thousands of pictures doesn't work so well, but light use should be decent. We had minimal problems with it last week. Occasionally had to disconnect/reconnect but nothing major.
__________________
Bewitched by Evil Genius
mountdew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 07:23 PM   #4
melissarose
Mouseketeer
 
melissarose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 490

cool! thanks for responding!
melissarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:54 PM   #5
fla4fun
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: near Orlando
Posts: 8,568

I used the wifi in the parks on my December trip and my January trip. I didn't have any issues either time. I had more issues with the wifi at the resort (primarily on the December trip) than anywhere else.

Obviously there aren't strong signals inside a lot of the attractions, but in shops and restaurants I didn't have any issues at all using the wifi, and outdoors I had excellent signals.
fla4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.