Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Photography Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2013, 09:48 AM   #1
disneydreamin247
DIS Veteran
 
disneydreamin247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,734

Photo editing software

What is a good editing program? I can't install Photoshop on my Mac because I'm not willing to wipe and reformat my hard drive, and my current format is unsupported.
__________________
Dani DS DD
disneydreamin247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 09:52 AM   #2
photo_chick
Knows a little about a lot of things, a lot about nothing.
 
photo_chick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: in the middle of Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 4,925

How old is your Mac? Are we talking pre-intel G4? If your OS is too old to support photoshop it's probably going to be too old to support any current software. Also, you don't have to reformat your hard drive to update your OS. But again, if you're pre-intel your Mac is an un-upgradeable paper weight now anyway.
__________________
Danielle

photo_chick is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 03-07-2013, 09:53 AM   #3
disneydreamin247
DIS Veteran
 
disneydreamin247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,734

Quote:
Originally Posted by photo_chick View Post
How old is your Mac? Are we talking pre-intel G4? If your OS is too old to support photoshop it's probably going to be too old to support any current software. Also, you don't have to reformat your hard drive to update your OS.
No, it's a brand new one. Adobe doesn't support case-sensitive drives.
__________________
Dani DS DD
disneydreamin247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:02 AM   #4
wiigirl
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15,974

I have used PhotoStudio before.....its not bad.
http://www.arcsoft.com/photostudio-mac/
__________________
For the love of Disney...
wiigirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:11 PM   #5
Shutterbug
Baba Ganoush is my hero
No parking baby, No parking on the dance floor
 
Shutterbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 5,694

Quote:
Originally Posted by disneydreamin247 View Post
What is a good editing program? I can't install Photoshop on my Mac because I'm not willing to wipe and reformat my hard drive, and my current format is unsupported.
Whats your current format?
I have an older Imac and a Mac Air. I have photoshop lightroom and elements installed on both with no problem.
__________________
Yeah I'm a dude...
Shutterbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:13 PM   #6
disneydreamin247
DIS Veteran
 
disneydreamin247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,734

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shutterbug View Post
Whats your current format?
I have an older Imac and a Mac Air. I have photoshop lightroom and elements installed on both with no problem.
It's case-sensitive. Most Adobe products don't support case-sensitive drives.
__________________
Dani DS DD
disneydreamin247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:49 PM   #7
photo_chick
Knows a little about a lot of things, a lot about nothing.
 
photo_chick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: in the middle of Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 4,925

Quote:
Originally Posted by disneydreamin247 View Post
No, it's a brand new one. Adobe doesn't support case-sensitive drives.
Ahh. Check the Adobe community forums. This has been addressed time and time again since CS5 was released. LIghtroom will support case sensitive drives.
__________________
Danielle

photo_chick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:51 PM   #8
disneydreamin247
DIS Veteran
 
disneydreamin247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,734

Quote:
Originally Posted by photo_chick View Post
Ahh. Check the Adobe community forums. This has been addressed time and time again since CS5 was released. And Photoshop isn't the only software that won't play nice for you.
I've scoured all corners of the internet. Adobe's solution is to wipe your drive and reformat it non case sensitive, which is completely ridiculous.
__________________
Dani DS DD
disneydreamin247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:00 PM   #9
photo_chick
Knows a little about a lot of things, a lot about nothing.
 
photo_chick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: in the middle of Dallas/Fort Worth
Posts: 4,925

Quote:
Originally Posted by disneydreamin247 View Post
I've scoured all corners of the internet. Adobe's solution is to wipe your drive and reformat it non case sensitive, which is completely ridiculous.
Yeah. The problem as plagued Photoshop users for several years now and it is intentional from Adobe. The reasons are probably related to having to install it on a boot drive and not being able to use a removable drive for installation. I've seen the workarounds but couldn't even begin to walk through one. I didn't set my Mac up to be case sensitive when I got it last August because I rely heavily on Photoshop.

Like I edited my previous post to say, Lightroom doesn't have any problems with it. And Lightroom uses the same engine for it's RAW processing that PHotoshop's Camera RAW does. So that's one option. I'd bet Corel has no issues either.
__________________
Danielle

photo_chick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:04 PM   #10
disneydreamin247
DIS Veteran
 
disneydreamin247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,734

Quote:
Originally Posted by photo_chick View Post
Yeah. The problem as plagued Photoshop users for several years now and it is intentional from Adobe. The reasons are probably related to having to install it on a boot drive and not being able to use a removable drive for installation. I've seen the workarounds but couldn't even begin to walk through one. I didn't set my Mac up to be case sensitive when I got it last August because I rely heavily on Photoshop.

Like I edited my previous post to say, Lightroom doesn't have any problems with it. And Lightroom uses the same engine for it's RAW processing that PHotoshop's Camera RAW does. So that's one option. I'd bet Corel has no issues either.
I hate to rely solely on Lightroom, but it looks like I will have to unless I want to take on a huge project.
__________________
Dani DS DD
disneydreamin247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:56 PM   #11
wbeem
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,396

Quote:
Originally Posted by disneydreamin247 View Post
What is a good editing program? I can't install Photoshop on my Mac because I'm not willing to wipe and reformat my hard drive, and my current format is unsupported.
You could get Pixelmator from the Mac App store. Also, onOne Software's Perfect Photo Suite runs as a stand-alone application. You can get Perfect Layers for free and use the other parts of the suite for a couple weeks as a trial before you decide to buy.
wbeem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 11:04 AM   #12
Domo
DIS Veteran
 
Domo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Domoland
Posts: 942

Easy, fun options include Analogue (http://www.realmacsoftware.com/analog/), FX Photo Studio (http://www.fxphotostudioapp.com) and ColorStrokes (http://www.colorstrokesapp.com).
__________________


No trees were killed in the sending of this message. However a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
Domo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 11:43 AM   #13
disneydreamin247
DIS Veteran
 
disneydreamin247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: staten island
Posts: 5,734

I bit the bullet yesterday and wiped my hard drive and reformatted it which was an enormous pain in the behind, but all is running smoothly. Now I'm in the process of restoring all of my business files.
__________________
Dani DS DD
disneydreamin247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.