Ths DIS is a great place to ask Disney Cruise Line questions and share tips.
Dreams Unlimited Travel - The official sponsor of the Disney Cruise Forums Dreams Unlimited Travel - the official sponsor of the Disney Cruise Forums  

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Cruise Line > Disney Cruise Line Forum
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 11:17 PM   #1
Elangen
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 121

Unlimited Internet on the Wonder - how much, do I need to book ahead of time?

So, work is crazy, and the only way I can go on our 1/5 cruise out of Miami is if I have access to check in at work daily. I know its slow, but, slow is better than nothing. I have searched and dont seem to be able to find 1) is there an "unlimited" internet access package on the Wonder? 2) How much is it? 3)Do I have to sign up for or add an internet package ahead of time? Or, do I do it on board, and if so, when and where?

Thank you!
Elangen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:29 PM   #2
kcashner
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33,275

The unlimited internet package was discontinued in 2005. Now you can purchase a package of 100, 250, or 500 minutes. 500 minutes = $150. The packages are a set deal--you cannot buy 100 and upgrade it to 500; you have to by a second package if you buy one and then want more.

You can purchase it on board when you are ready to use.

There is cheap/free fast wifi at most of the stops the ships make. With a little effort, we've found them almost everywhere. Tell me what ports you're going to and I'll tell you what I know.
kcashner is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 12-26-2012, 12:14 AM   #3
Elangen
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 121

Thanks! That helps me consider my options. Our only stops are CC and Cozumel.
Elangen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:24 AM   #4
kcashner
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33,275

In Cozumel, there is a Starbucks right at the port. Buy a coffee or tea and there is an access code on your receipt--unlimited free wifi for the day. Or since it is Mexico, but a bottled water~

Castaway Cay--none Get back on the ship and pay their outrageous rates.
kcashner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 06:03 AM   #5
havaneselover
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 972

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcashner View Post
In Cozumel, there is a Starbucks right at the port. Buy a coffee or tea and there is an access code on your receipt--unlimited free wifi for the day. Or since it is Mexico, but a bottled water~

Castaway Cay--none Get back on the ship and pay their outrageous rates.
Thanks so much for the tip. How about Grand Cayman and Costa Maya?
__________________
Me DD 10 DS 9
havaneselover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 06:07 AM   #6
Paigeanne
Earning My Ears
 
Paigeanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcashner
In Cozumel, there is a Starbucks right at the port. Buy a coffee or tea and there is an access code on your receipt--unlimited free wifi for the day. Or since it is Mexico, but a bottled water~

Castaway Cay--none Get back on the ship and pay their outrageous rates.
Awesome tip!! Thanks!!
Paigeanne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:24 AM   #7
Bear3412
DIS Veteran
 
Bear3412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: No. VA
Posts: 4,250

I believe the Royal suites have unlimited access. It may be less expensive to book one of those cabins. Well at least a great excuse.
Bear3412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:24 AM   #8
lanejudy
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,809
DISboards Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elangen View Post
So, work is crazy, and the only way I can go on our 1/5 cruise out of Miami is if I have access to check in at work daily. I know its slow, but, slow is better than nothing. I have searched and dont seem to be able to find 1) is there an "unlimited" internet access package on the Wonder? 2) How much is it? 3)Do I have to sign up for or add an internet package ahead of time? Or, do I do it on board, and if so, when and where?

Thank you!
Just keep in mind that "slow" can be an understatement. If you need to download/upload files, it may be impossible. You'll be better off using a wifi in port. If you just need to check emails periodically (no attachments) onboard might be ok.

Good luck and enjoy your cruise!
lanejudy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:55 PM   #9
BrettW
Brett
 
BrettW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 118

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanejudy

Just keep in mind that "slow" can be an understatement. If you need to download/upload files, it may be impossible. You'll be better off using a wifi in port. If you just need to check emails periodically (no attachments) onboard might be ok.

Good luck and enjoy your cruise!
Text files (MS Word documents) and basic spreadsheets, as well as email, are ok, though slow. Forget about significant graphic, video or Power Points.

Sent from my iPad using DISBoards
__________________
Brett
BrettW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 03:29 PM   #10
DisneyOHFan
Livin' for Disney
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,447

I get the international data plan on my blackberry prior to leaving. It is easier and cheaper for me to do e-mails. Then if I have to do an attachment, etc, I will then log-in and pay the wi-fi fees.
DisneyOHFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 05:03 PM   #11
kcashner
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33,275

Quote:
Originally Posted by havaneselover View Post
Thanks so much for the tip. How about Grand Cayman and Costa Maya?
We did have free wifi in Grand Cayman, but it was several years ago. I have found that locations change, and don't want to give incorrect info.

Never been to Costa Maya...sorry.
kcashner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.