Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Disney Collectors Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-08-2012, 06:09 AM   #1
jessthemix
Mouseketeer

Scrapper Pins

I am new to pin trading, and I've seen the threads warning about scrapper/fake pins. Can anyone explain how to tell the difference?

My son and daughter went crazy with pin trading on their first trip in September. I bought 5 of the starter packs for them to trade with. However, I'm worried they have traded for a few scrapper pins. can someone help me identify them?

All-Star Movies (2012); Pop Century (2013); All-Star Movies (2014)

jessthemix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 06:39 AM   #2
mountdew1
DIS Veteran

Odds are in you traded for pins from a CM lanyard, you got scrappers. Some are good and hard to tell they are fakes, others are pretty bad and can be easily spotted right off the bat. You can check out pinpics.com and their pin forum to see pics of some known fakes, and reasons why they are fakes.

Things to look for -
* Unclean edges. Places where there are bits of metal flashing left on the edges where if overflowed the mold that would normally be trimmed up, or areas between pieces of the pin that stick out that should be clear of metal, but instead have metal between them. (IE look at the Vinylmation pins, many still have metal between the arm and the body)
* Off colors. Often the colors aren't what they should be. I have seen some Belles whose dress has been a radioactive green yellow instead of the normal yellow color.
* Off paint. Real pins can make it through QC with spots left blank, colors in the wrong spots, and things like really bad pupils in the eyes, but scrappers are much more likely to have these things.