DVC RESALES
DVC RESALES

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Vacation Club > DVC Member Services
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-07-2012, 08:52 AM   #1
TyGuy
Mouseketeer

Renting vs transfer points

I know this has probably been answered a number of times but this is my first time looking into renting vs transfering points. We are looking to take our granddaughter to WDW next November and are short on points. So am I correct in my options:

1. We could rent points for our stay from another member - That member would make a reservation for us and we would rent the exact number of points need for the stay.

2. We could pay someone to transfer their points to us and then we could use the points as we wish (subject to the banking/ borrowing rules). These points would be for the home resort and use year of the person making the transfer.

Did I get it correct? We are also looking at a cash reservation but it appears renting/ transfering points is cheaper.

Thanks
Ty

Nov 13 VWL, Oct 12 VWL, Nov 11 BLT, Dec 10 BWV and YC, Dec 09 BLT, Oct 08 YC, Dec 07 YC, Nov 06 (Jersey Week) YC, Nov 02 (Jersey Week) YC, Nov 00 (Work Conference) YC, June 00 CR, Jan 99 CR, Feb 98 YC, Oct 97 CR, Jan 96 DI, Jan 94 FW, Sep 87 FW, and a bunch before that I donít remember the dates
TyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:26 AM   #2
montrealdisneylovers
Mouseketeer

Sounds correct to me.

Use year is very important because transferred points can be banked and not borrowed. You should keep this in mind when looking for your transfer of points.