Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Budget Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 08:54 AM   #1
Disney Addicted
DIS Veteran
 
Disney Addicted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 854

Does Windows 7 cap the size of a hard drive?

Before I purchase an external hard drive, I have a question.

A few years ago Windows had limits on how much hard drive space it would recoganize. Does it anymore? I would like to purchase a 3 TB hard drive but need to find out if Windows 7 will recoganize it.
Disney Addicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 12:24 PM   #2
mcorbo
Just tag me the DUH Master...
 
mcorbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Joisey
Posts: 798

Quote:
Originally Posted by Disney Addicted View Post
Before I purchase an external hard drive, I have a question.

A few years ago Windows had limits on how much hard drive space it would recoganize. Does it anymore? I would like to purchase a 3 TB hard drive but need to find out if Windows 7 will recoganize it.
It's not as simple as windows recognizing it, any drive greater than 2tb can be used as a data drive, but not a boot drive in Windows 7. In order to use a drive greater than 2TB as a boot drive, you would need to have the 64 bit version of windows 7 and a motherboard and bios that support it. There is much more information here:

http://www.hgst.com/tech/techlib.nsf/techdocs/869E4925CC72E233862577E100235119/$file/Deskstar_3TB_FAQ_finalwebv2.pdf
__________________
Mike


mcorbo is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 11-23-2012, 01:45 PM   #3
Disney Addicted
DIS Veteran
 
Disney Addicted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 854

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcorbo View Post
It's not as simple as windows recognizing it, any drive greater than 2tb can be used as a data drive, but not a boot drive in Windows 7. In order to use a drive greater than 2TB as a boot drive, you would need to have the 64 bit version of windows 7 and a motherboard and bios that support it. There is much more information here:

http://www.hgst.com/tech/techlib.nsf/techdocs/869E4925CC72E233862577E100235119/$file/Deskstar_3TB_FAQ_finalwebv2.pdf
Thank you mcorbo. I want to use it purely as a data drive. I'll take a look at the article you linked.
Disney Addicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 01:56 PM   #4
jedijill
Chiefs fan living in Bronco country
 
jedijill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 5,272

Quote:
Originally Posted by Disney Addicted View Post
Thank you mcorbo. I want to use it purely as a data drive. I'll take a look at the article you linked.
You should be fine. I run a Drobo drive as an external HD with a capacity of 7TB and Windows 7 has no issues with it.

Jill in CO
__________________
jedijill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.